TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,934 Reviews & Articles | 38,229 News Posts

ASUS ROG Rampage III Extreme (X58 Express) Motherboard - The Box and What's Inside

ASUS drops another top-end Republic of Gamers board on us. This time it's the X58 Rampage III Extreme, ready and waiting for our Core i7-980X to make the most of it.

| Socket LGA 1366 in Motherboards | Posted: Jun 25, 2010 9:14 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: ASUS

Package and Contents

 

The box the Rampage ships in is very red. This is not to say it is unattractive, it is just very red. ASUS has made sure you know the name of the product, though. That is splashed across the front in large letters. There is also a Windows 7 Ready logo along with the words "Designed for Overclocking". This plus the row of smaller logos across the bottom let you know right away you are looking at a high-performance board.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3367_02.jpg

 

Under the front flap you get a glimpse of the Rampage III Extreme (we will call it the RIIIE moving forward). It is clearly a nice looking board. Along with this view you also get some additional and specific information about the product. Here you can read about the Extreme Engine Digi+. This is ASUS' combination Digital and Analog power management feature. It combines the best of both of these implementations to give you the best possible power management (we will talk about this later).

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3367_03.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3367_04.jpg

 

The back of the box has a few more shots of some of the features you get with the RIIIE along with a abbreviated specification list in seven languages.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3367_05.jpg

 

Once you get past the outer shell, you can dig into the goodies inside. Here we find that, once again, ASUS has not gone light. You have SATA II and SATA 3.0 cables, a thermistor, a Northbridge fan, a Tri-SLI bridge, a Crossfire bridge, Bluetooth Connect module and much more.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3367_06.jpg

 

The Bluetooth module is primarily intended for the BT Connect feature. However, ASUS has made sure it can still function like a standard Bluetooth module. This means that you can still setup a BT personal area network for short range file transfer, or if you want, use a Bluetooth mouse and keyboard combo.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3367_07.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3367_08.jpg

 

Included in the pile of loot is also a nice fan for the Northbridge. This is a handy little extra if you are planning on overclocking the RIIIE and let's face it; if you bought this board the chances are you are going to overclock it. The fan will not work out for everyone as we found out, much to our disappointment.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3367_09.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3367_10.jpg

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases