TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,490 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Foxconn H55MX-S (H55 Express) Micro-ATX Motherboard - The Motherboard

Taking a couple steps back from the run of full featured high performance offerings, Sean takes a look at a mATX H55 based board from Foxconn.

| Socket LGA 1156 in Motherboards | Posted: Jun 10, 2010 6:21 am
TweakTown Rating: 78%Manufacturer: Foxconn

The Motherboard

 

The Foxconn H55MX-S is not a pretty board. I am not saying it is ugly or anything like that, but it is certainly not as stylish as the A9DA-S.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3341_01.jpg

 

The H55MX-S is based on a Micro-ATX design. This design is a very popular one for entry level and HTPC systems. It keeps things clean and only gives you the basics for what you need. With the H55 Express chipset onboard, you do not even get RAID.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3341_06.jpg

 

Looking at the upper portion of the board, we see the standard connections. Well, sort of. The H55MX-S has only two slots for RAM and also is equipped with the one thing that most people (entry level or not) will not be using. This is a floppy connector. Out of all the things that could have been put here, I am not sure why a floppy was the choice. I can understand not wanting to spend money on a PATA controller, but I would have thought USB headers or something of that nature would have been a better choice here.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3341_07.jpg

 

Around the CPU we do see that Foxconn went the extra step and used solid capacitors; unfortunately they did not extend this to the chokes. From the looks of the chokes and the voltage regulators, this is probably not the most power efficient motherboard. I guess it is a good thing that it is not intended for high-performance usage.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3341_08.jpg

 

Taking a quick look at the lower half of the board, we see the entry level/HTPC trend continuing in the slots available. There is a single x16 and a x4 PCIe slot combined with two PCI 2.0 slots. We also see that Foxconn did not use solid capacitors for everything on the board. We see some traditional ones lurking in a cluster on the lower left hand corner.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3341_09.jpg

 

You also get six SATA 2.0 ports on the board. However, the first two can be rendered useless by a long GPU. Of course, this is not likely to happen on this entry level board, but it is still important to note.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3341_10.jpg

 

The ports are what you should be getting with a H55 based board. They are anticipating the use of a Clarkdale CPU+GPU processor.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3341_11.jpg

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases