TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,921 Reviews & Articles | 38,153 News Posts

TRENDnet TEW-673GRU Dual Band 300Mbps Wireless Router - The WebUI

Is your home wireless network getting cluttered with too much data? TRENDnet has a possible answer with their dual band Wireless N router.

| Routers & Access Points in Networking | Posted: Jun 7, 2010 5:23 pm
TweakTown Rating: 89%      Manufacturer: TRENDnet

The WebUI

 

The WebUI on the TEW-673GRU is well done. It is simple and easy to navigate. TRENDnet has provided the basics as well as some nice advanced functions for more extreme users.

 

Main

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3331_29.png

 

If you did not use the wizard or wanted to change your WAN type, you can do it from the Main-WAN page.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3331_30.png

 

The time zone settings are more important than many people think. With another wireless router we had sync issues that at times prevented clients from connecting until we forced it to sync up with the time server. We have also seen a few routers that reset back to default at random. This also can cause clients to drop off or to have slow transfer rates (media streaming is seriously affected), so being able to set these right and have them stick is a good thing.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3331_31.png

 

The rest of the items under the main tab are self-explanatory.

 

Wireless

 

The items under the wireless networking tab are pretty simple. After using the wizard you will want to head here and setup security for your wireless networks.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3331_32.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3331_33.png

 

For Security Cypher we recommend you use AES for the best security and performance. However, there are some older adapters (even N adapters) that do not like this cypher mode, so you might end up back at Auto. You can also change your WPS PIN and settings in this area.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3331_34.png

 

Status

 

The Status pages have information on your TEW-673GRU as well as detailed information on the amount of traffic going over the different connectivity points (LAN, 2.4GHz and 5GHz).

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3331_35.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3331_36.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3331_37.png

 

Routing

 

As you can probably guess, the routing section is where you would setup any static routes needed for your network. It is also where you can view the existing routing table in use by the TEW-673GRU. For most people this section will never be used, but it is nice to have for more advanced users.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3331_38.png

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases