TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,669 Reviews & Articles | 36,037 News Posts

TRENDnet TEW-673GRU Dual Band 300Mbps Wireless Router - Setup

Is your home wireless network getting cluttered with too much data? TRENDnet has a possible answer with their dual band Wireless N router.

| Routers & Access Points in Networking | Posted: Jun 7, 2010 5:23 pm
TweakTown Rating: 89%      Manufacturer: TRENDnet

Setup

 

Finally! I can almost rejoice for the general consumer! The setup wizard for the TEW-673GRU asks you to change your admin password as part of the setup. This has been a very long time in getting here, but it is nice to finally see it.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3331_22.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3331_23.png

 

Chose the time zone you are in right after you make sure you change your password from the default one that anyone can find out.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3331_24.png

 

Next up, you can change the LAN and DHCP settings.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3331_25.png

 

TRENDnet has included quite a few options for your WAN connectivity type.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3331_26.png

 

If you chose dynamic IP you also have the option to clone or set a new MAC address. This helps with certain ISPs that run MAC filtering on their DHCP systems.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3331_27.png

 

You can also setup both bands for wireless connectivity. Unfortunately you cannot setup the security for them from the Wizard. That has to be done in the regular Web UI.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3331_28.png

 

The setup wizard on the TEW-673GRU is almost a complete one. If they would have added in security setup for the wireless (both bands), this would have been the best wizard I have seen on a consumer product.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below