TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,436 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

GIGABYTE P55A-UD7 (P55 Express) Motherboard - The Box and What's Inside

We take a close look at the UD7 flavour of GIGABYTE's P55 motherboard to see if the 24 phase power really makes a difference.

| Socket LGA 1156 in Motherboards | Posted: Jun 5, 2010 2:14 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

Package and Contents

 

The box is the now typical GIGABYTE package. It is covered from top to bottom with information. It is not a bad thing, but it is almost at the point of information overload. The large '7' on the front lets you know right away that this is one of the UD7 line.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_02.jpg

 

If you open up the front flap you get to see the P55A-UD7 fairly clearly. It is a nice looking board.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_03.jpg

 

the backside of the front flap is a continuation of the front, with more information expounding on the virtues of the P55A-UD7.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_04.jpg

 

The actual back of the box is also more of the same advertisement. Of course, this is not to say that the claims are not true or that they are misleading. I am only saying that the P55A-UD7 has so much going on that they are fast running out of room on the box to tell you about it

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_05.jpg

 

Ah, sorry about this slight diversion, but when I pulled the motherboard container out I started laughing. To me it reminded me of a vegetable tray. This had me laughing for more than a few minutes. But, even without the veggies, it is still one tasty looking tray.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_06.jpg

 

The loot you get with the P55A-UD7 is pretty good, you also get a couple of GB unique items. Included with the cables is a single power cable that will allow you to connect a stock SATA drive to the eSATA port without the need to use an enclosure. This is great for transferring information to a new drive or for a quick backup onto another drive.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_07.jpg

 

GB has also included their signature SilentPipe 2 cooling system for the P55A-UD7. This allows you to add some extra cooling surface to the heatpipe system on the board.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_60.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_61.jpg

 

Not a bad haul when you think about it.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases