TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,253 Reviews & Articles | 40,836 News Posts

RunCore Pro V 100GB SandForce SF-1200 Solid State Drive - The RunCore Pro V 100GB SSD

RunCore changed the Pro V between our preview back in January and the final retail model that we will look at today.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jun 3, 2010 3:13 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: RunCore

The RunCore Pro V 100GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3326_03.jpg

 

Double the Flavor, Double the Fun. At least that is how the commercial went back in the '80s. RunCore made good on their promise from CES to allow us to get in a RAID Report for the Pro V drives and we will get that online for you real soon.

 

Here we see how our drives arrived. Western Digital and Seagate also send over products without their retail package, so we are pretty used to this.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3326_04.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the RunCore Pro V. As you can see, the gold case is now gone, lost to the Kylin II, but the silver brushed aluminum packaging is identical except for the color. This is also the same case that was used on the Pro IV Indilinx Barefoot based products we looked at last year. It is a very sturdy case for an SSD.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3326_05.jpg

 

On the back we found all of the additional information for the Pro V. The model and serial number are also located here and we found something else interesting, too.

 

On the back of the drive we found the same 500mA at 5 volts rating; this is the same as the G.Skill Phoenix. The Phoenix used older Samsung M Die flash that uses more power than the Intel 3Xnm flash used in the Pro V. When we get back from Computex one of our main goals is to start measuring power draw for SSDs.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3326_06.jpg

 

On the side we found standard mounting connectors for the Pro V.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3326_07.jpg

 

The SATA power and data connectors are also located in the standard configuration, so you will not have a problem installing the Pro V in your desktop with an adapter or notebook.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3326_08.jpg

 

I have yet to see this PCB before in the other SandForce drives we have reviewed. Here we see the SF-1200 controller in the middle and eight Intel flash modules surrounding it.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3326_09.jpg

 

On the back side we see that this is actually a RunCore PCB with their name silk screened on it.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases