TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,667 Reviews & Articles | 36,021 News Posts

MSI Big Bang XPower (X58 Express) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

We see if the MSI Big Bang X58 XPower is the start of a new MSI universe, or if it will end up being a black hole that MSI cannot get out of.

| Socket LGA 1366 in Motherboards | Posted: Jun 7, 2010 6:58 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: MSI

BIOS

 

Once you get inside the BIOS you see that MSI has added in a number of fun options for tweaking your board and CPU.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_26.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_27.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_28.jpg

 

Even after going through all the options on the page, there are a few sub-menus to get through.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_29.jpg

 

And Advanced Voltage control. I would have thought they would put the CPU PLL voltage on the main M.I.T. page, but instead it got listed in the Advanced Voltage section.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_31.jpg

 

MSI has added the ability to tweak the cores individually using their Turbo Boost configuration page.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_32.jpg

 

Another interesting feature is the BIOS enabled power settings. These are in addition to the normal power management features found on the board.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_33.jpg

 

As you can see, there are a lot of items integrated on to the MSI Big Bang X58 XPower.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_34.jpg

 


Overclocking

 

I have to say that the XPower was one of the easiest boards that I have used to OC my 980X. I was surprised at how quickly I was up and over 4.3GHz with this. I was even able to enter Windows at 4.4GHz. These are speeds that I have not been able to hit before with this CPU. The closest I have gotten before was at 4.238GHz on a GIGABYTE X58-UD7.

 

I do think that with more time and tinkering I could have gotten much more out of the XPower than I did here. Our final stable OC for the MSI XPower was 166x26 for a clock of 4.318GHz.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_35.png

 

You can see the validation for the i7 980X on the MSI XPower here.

 


OC Dashboard

 

We did not use the OC Dashboard much for our testing. It was not that it did not do a good job, it was that it was hard to read and ended up being more hassle than it was worth. It was great for looking at boot codes and some other basic data, but to actually use it for overclocking was just too much.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_36.jpg

 

To get almost anywhere you had to hunt around for the menus. Once you were there you would often have to leave to get to another area to finish up what you wanted to do in the first place. In the end we left it on the time and that was that.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_37.jpg

 

I think that MSI needs to take a look at this and improve upon the design. Personally I feel that a much larger display with a combination of pre-set and soft buttons would work best. Also, the display needs to be able to show more information at one time. Maybe an LCD with a backlight would be cleaner and better.

 


As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary. Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below