TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,911 Reviews & Articles | 38,072 News Posts

MSI Big Bang XPower (X58 Express) Motherboard - Update: PCMark Vantage re-visited

We see if the MSI Big Bang X58 XPower is the start of a new MSI universe, or if it will end up being a black hole that MSI cannot get out of.

| Socket LGA 1366 in Motherboards | Posted: Jun 7, 2010 6:58 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: MSI

PCMark Vantage re-visited

 

There are times when new things are not always better things. When we received our sample of the MSI Big Bang X58 Xpower motherboard we also received a burned DVD with drivers on it. There was no retail driver installation DVD. It turns out that these drivers were not full release versions. In fact, the Intel INF driver was not even available on Intel's website. The current version there is 9.1.1.1019, whilst the version on the disk was 9.1.2.1007.

 

This version caused some pretty big troubles for us during our testing. It turns out the 9.1.2.1007 drivers do not like PCMark at all. As you read in our original PCMark Vantage test results, we saw simply awful scores on this one test. The rest of the tests were pretty much right on the money.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_10.jpg

 

You can see the burned DVD here

 

After working with MSI for the better part of a week and trying two brand new BIOS files, we finally started playing with drivers. We uninstalled and reinstalled the USB 3.0 drivers, the Marvell drivers, the audio drivers and then we attacked the INF.

 

When we went to reinstall them we found that the version numbers were way off. This was not what we expected; after all, the installation utility looked like the final version and everything else worked. On a whim we let the installer overwrite the newer files with the older ones from MSI's website and to our great surprise the scores suddenly fell where they were supposed to.

 

So, for now we can show you that the MSI Big Bang Xpower can run PCMark Vantage. It is not as fast as the ASUS board at stock speeds (for PCMark), but it is certainly very agile and gives us good results. We also saw when using the proper retail drivers it fixed the issues we had with USB 3.0. So the moral in this story; never assume the disk sent to you has the right drivers. Check and double check!

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_48.png

 

PCMark with Intel INF 9.1.2.1007

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_49.png

 

PCMark x86 Suite stock speeds with INF 9.1.1.1019

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_50.png

 

PCMark x64 Suite stock speeds with INF 9.1.1.1019

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_51.png

 

PCMark x86 Suite at 4.3GHz with INF 9.1.1.1019

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_52.png

 

PCMark x64 Suite at 4.3GHz with INF 9.1.1.1019

 

As you can see, it made a rather big difference and proved our initial feeling that the PCMark performance issue was something simple. We ran all of the other tests at stock speeds and they were within 3% of the original scores. We cannot tell you why this newer driver did not like PCMark Vantage, but it didn't and we can say that if you pick up one of these boards retail you will not have this issue, as the driver included with the retail drivers DVD is the 9.1.1.1019 that is on Intel's and MSI's website.

 

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases