TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,012 Reviews & Articles | 38,775 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

MSI Big Bang XPower (X58 Express) Motherboard - Real-World Tests Part II

We see if the MSI Big Bang X58 XPower is the start of a new MSI universe, or if it will end up being a black hole that MSI cannot get out of.

| Socket LGA 1366 in Motherboards | Posted: Jun 7, 2010 6:58 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: MSI

Here we have our real gaming tests. Each of the games we chose uses multiple cores and GPUs. They are able to stress the system through use of good AI. Both have decent positional audio that adds impact to the sound subsystem of the board. We ran each game through the level or parts listed and recorded frame per second using FRAPS. This brings the whole game into play.

 

*** A word on gaming as a motherboard test; ***

 

Despite the fact that most games are very GPU limited, we are still noticing HDD and even audio creating issues in gaming performance. Because of this you may see differences in the number of frames rendered per second between different boards. Usually the difference is very small, but occasionally, because of bad tracing, poor memory or HDD performance, this difference is significant. The issues are often more prevalent in older versions of DirectX, but can still pop up in DX10 and 11.

 


Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 (DX9)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0
Timedemo or Level Used: First combat until the school is cleared
Developer Homepage: http://www.infinityward.com
Product Homepage: http://modernwarfare2.infinityward.com
Buy It Here

 

Most of you know about the game Modern Warfare 2, it caused quite a bit of controversy in the latter half of 2009. The game is a first person shooter with a heavy combat emphasis. It follows the events in the first Modern Warfare very closely and brings back several characters from the original.

 

As with most games in the Call of Duty franchise, it features a heavy AI load. This is not because of a complex AI routine, but more due to the sheer number of enemies in any given combat situation. It is also our single DX9 based game in our testing suite. Settings are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_81.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_82.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_53.png

 

We did something a little different this time around. Instead of focusing on the average FPS, we are taking a look at the minimum ones that each rig was able to achieve.

 

Here we see a different story. Granted, all are still faster than a human eye can detect, but we do see the XPower doing quite well in this test.

 


Far Cry 2 (DX10)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: V1.00
Timedemo or Level Used: Clearing the Safe house through to the Rescue
Developer Homepage: http://www.ubi.com
Product Homepage: http://www. http://farcry.us.ubi.com

Buy It Here

 

Far Cry 2 is a large sandbox style game. There are no levels here, so as you move about the island you are on you do not have to wait for the "loading" sign to go away. It is mission driven, so each mission is what you would normally think of as the next "level".

 

In the game you take the role of a mercenary who has been sent to kill the Jackal. Unfortunately your malaria kicks in and you end up being found by him. Long story short, you become the errand boy for a local militia leader and run all over the island doing his bidding. Settings we used for testing are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_83.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_54.png

 

Far Cry 2 is a very close race. Any one of these systems would offer great performance. It is nice to see that the XPower will not slow you down at all with this game.

 


Battlefield Bad Company 2 (DX11)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: V1.00
Timedemo or Level Used: From washing up on the beach to the mine fields.
Developer Homepage: http://www.ea.com/
Product Homepage: http://badcompany2.ea.com/
Buy It Here

 

Battlefield Bad Company is another sequel and also another game "franchise". Bad Company 2 is also our DX11 Shooter game. The game follows a fictitious B company team on a mission to recover a Japanese defector. This puts you back in World War II (at least for the beginning of the game) while the multi-player game is centered on much more modern combat. For our testing we used the single player mode. Settings are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_84.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3323_55.png

 

Interestingly, at stock speeds the XPower struggles with this game. However, once we let the CPU loose we see some very impressive numbers that put it up at the top of the list.

 


Gaming Conclusion

 

Gaming as a test is difficult. On the one hand you can say this board or that board is faster or better for gaming based on the strict numbers. On the other, you have to show that the differences are so minor they are often unnoticeable between systems. Using gaming as a test requires actual game play to see how all the subsystems come into play; from the audio, to memory/HDD (for level load times) and even CPU. Once you put these into the equation you have a good picture of how well a board can game.

 

With the XPower, while we saw that in many cases it was not the fastest, it did have an upper hand in audio quality and level load times (oddly enough). We had no audio issues or stutters during the game while the audio CODEC tried to catch up.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases