TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,488 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

TRENDnet TEW-655BR3G/A 3150Mbps 3G Mobile Wireless Router - The WebUI

We take a look at a new mobile wireless router that can work with existing 3G USB dongles. Is it fast enough for our "now!" internet needs?

| Routers & Access Points in Networking | Posted: Jun 2, 2010 7:28 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: TRENDnet

The WebUI

 

When you head to the default IP for the TEW-655BR3G/A you will be greeted with a status screen that shows you your connection status.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_17.png

 

Once you login and click on the advanced icon you are allowed into the rest of the WebUI. Here you can configure quite a bit and access some very nice features that lie under the surface of the TEW-655BR3G/A.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_18.png

 

Clicking on the network setup link gets you to the settings for both the internal LAN as well as the 3G connection. Looking at the top of the page you will see that you can configure how the RJ-45 port works. You can set it to LAN, WAN and even Off (although I am not sure why you would want to turn off the RJ-45 port).

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_19.png

 

Below the LAN settings is where you can adjust the settings for your 3G modem. For our testing we were using a Sprint Sierra Wireless Compass 597. This required us to manually set up our access. For many this step will not be needed. It is also important to note that the Compass 597 has a built in GPS and WiFi Radio that gave us some additional issues later on. These were easy to get around, but were frustrating at first.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_20.png

 

The TEW-655BR3G also features a DHCP server (like many others) complete with fixed IP mappings and the ability to view attached clients by IP.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_21.png

 

The wireless page gives you many of the same options you would find in single band home wireless routers. We were even able to use the TEW-655BR3G/A while not broadcasting the SSID. This is something that has not always worked on travel routers.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_22.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_23.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_24.png

 

Under forwarding rules you can even setup virtual servers (for something like FTP, video streaming; even web hosting and email). You can also configure gaming and video services. Believe it or not, you can also establish a DMZ. Like we said, the TEW-655 has routing features you would normally only find in home routers.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_25.png

 

Surprisingly the security settings are very flexible. You have options for packet filtering, domain blocking (including logging attempts to access the domains and DNS resolution attempts), MAC address controls (for locking down your wireless even more) and a few other more mundane options.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_26.png

 

The Advanced settings are where you will find things like the system log, Dynamic DNS settings (to get that mobileÂ…umm, video site going), Quality of Service and Simple Network Management Protocol. You can build routing tables, set the system time and finally you can also setup a schedule for some for the forwarding and security features.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_28.png

 

The ToolBox is very simple and does not need much explanation.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases