TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,214 Reviews & Articles | 40,230 News Posts

TRENDnet TEW-655BR3G/A 3150Mbps 3G Mobile Wireless Router - The TEW-655BR3G/A

We take a look at a new mobile wireless router that can work with existing 3G USB dongles. Is it fast enough for our "now!" internet needs?

| Routers & Access Points in Networking | Posted: Jun 2, 2010 7:28 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: TRENDnet

The TEW-655BR3G/A

 

The TEW-655BR3G/A is a fairly small device. It is not as small as the other "non-3G" travel routers on the market, but it is still fairly small.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_01.jpg

 

Its outer casing is made of plastic to keep things light. The top has three LEDs on the front for indication of WiFi, LAN and USB activity. On the back above the TRENDnet logo is a power indicator. This serves a dual purpose. It can show that the device is on, is charging or is low on battery (Green, Orange and Red LEDs).

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_05.jpg

 

The back holds a single RJ-45 port that also has a dual purpose. It can be used to directly connect your system to the TEW-655BR3G or to connect to another router or modem for quick wireless access. There is also a power switch here due to the existence of an internal battery system. This allows you to conserve battery when the TEW-655BR3G is not in use.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_06.jpg

 

Along the right hand side is the single USB 2.0 port for connecting a 3G Modem. There is also a reset and WPS (Wireless Protected Setup) button.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_08.jpg

 

As we mentioned, there is a compartment for a 3.7V, 1700mAh Li-ION battery (included). This is supposed to give you around 2.5 hours of usage before needing a recharge.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_07.jpg

 

The TEW-655BR3G has some nice specs for its size. We also know that due to the use of a USB modem port you are going to get across the board compatibility (well, almost) for 3G functionality. The WiFi side also looks impressive on paper and has support for the current technologies and modulation standards.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_80.png

 

The Internal firewall (which we will cover later) also has features that you would expect only in a less portable product.

TweakTown image content/3/3/3322_81.png

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases