TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,908 Reviews & Articles | 38,046 News Posts

ASUS and Sennheiser Unite with Xonar Xense HD Audio Solution - Technical Overview

ASUS has stunned many with their enormously successful line of Xonar audio products. Today we take one of their new Xense sound cards and add a pair of quality headphones to see what's what.

| Sound Cards in Audio, Sound & Speakers | Posted: Jun 1, 2010 12:58 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: ASUS

Technical Overview

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3319_06.jpg

 

Speaking technically, let's start by looking at some specifications.

 

Sound Card:

 

S/N Ratio: 118dB front channel
Frequency Response: 10Hz-46KHz
Headphone Impedance: Optimized for 32-600ohms
Audio Processor: ASUS AV100 (retained from previous models)
24bit DAC: Texas PCM1796 for fronts, cirrus-logic CS4362A for remaining channels
Headphone amp: Texas 6120A2
Bus: PCI Express x1
Resolution: 192/24bit
SP/DIF Resolution: 192/24bit
Driver support: Fully Dolby, EAX 5.0, propriety ASUS software, ASIO 2.0 from 44.1 through 192KHz @ 16/24bit

 


Headphones:

 

Cable length: 3m
Connector plugs: 2x 6.3mm
Speaker Type: Dynamic, 38mm Nd magnet
F/R: 10-2600Hz
Impendence: 150ohm
THD: less than 0.1%

 


Mic:

 

F/R 50-1600Hz
Pattern: noise canceling
Sensitivity: -38dbv @ 94dBSPL

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3319_14.jpg

 

Starting with the card itself, things look pretty good from the outset with technical figures that echo the success of previous Xonar iterations.

 

I'm not going to re-cover a lot of the information given in my Xonar Essence article concerning selection of particular capacitors and components, simply because it's information overload firstly. And secondly, you can see it all right here.

 

So, what I do want to cover here is just a quick refresh on the basics of what makes the Xonar so technically competent and then just run through a little bit about what the PC350's from Sennheiser are about.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3319_04.jpg

 

One of the first benefits to the Xense is the very clean S/N ratio of 118dB, which is an impressive figure without pulling it apart too much.

 

Frequency response should be high on a card like this and is, managing to stretch all the way up to 46KHz which as a point of reference is a lot higher than the human hearing range of 20KHz. However, it is thought that we still possess an awareness of these frequencies even though they are so far up the spectrum.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3319_15.jpg

 

ASUS have chosen their AV100 audio processor again which is merely a case of 'don't change what's not broken'.

 

Texas Instruments and Cirrus Logic are again tasked with providing chips to convert the digital signal to analog.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3319_21.jpg

 

And the actual headphone amp is again a Texas Instruments component; that being the 6120A2.

 

Software support is basically all-inclusive apart from the notable exception of DTS Labs, which is one of the only things that jump out a bit for me. Gamers will be happy with complete EAX 5.0 support for all the latest titles and plenty of connection support also.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3319_20.jpg

 

Now, the PC350's from Sennheiser are an impressive product in their own right, not to mention as a bundle. They feature a good long cable and full sized 6.3mm gold plated connectors which will be great news for the audio crowd.

 

Frequency response is very good, as you would expect from any Xonar board and THD is also very impressive coming in at 0.1%.

 

Now to the mic which is the last piece of equipment to cover and also is an impressive one. With a response of 50Hz-16,000Hz and a noise canceling pick-up pattern, things look good for this little mic, too.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3319_13.jpg

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Audio, Sound & Speakers content at our Audio, Sound & Speakers reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases