TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,253 Reviews & Articles | 40,834 News Posts

Intel Core i7-875K (Socket 1156) Unlocked CPU - Real-World Tests Part II

Intel has upped the overclocking ante on their CPU line-up with a new "K" series CPU. Will these unlocked parts really help with your OC addiction?

| Intel CPUs in CPUs, Chipsets & SoCs | Posted: May 28, 2010 4:03 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Intel

Here we have our real gaming tests. Each of the games we chose use multiple cores and GPUs. They are able to stress the system through use of good AI. Both have decent positional audio that adds impact to the sound subsystem of the board. We ran each game through the level or parts listed and recorded frames per second using FRAPS. This brings the whole game into play.

 

*** A word on gaming as a CPU test ***

 

Despite the fact that most games are very GPU limited, we are still noticing HDD and even audio creating issues in gaming performance. Because of this you may see differences in the number of frames rendered per second between different boards. Usually the difference is very small, but occasionally because of bad tracing, poor memory or HDD performance, this difference is significant. The issues are often more prevalent in older versions of DirectX, but can still pop up in DX10 and 11.

 


Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 (DX9)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0
Timedemo or Level Used: First combat until the school is cleared
Developer Homepage: http://www.infinityward.com
Product Homepage: http://modernwarfare2.infinityward.com

 

Most of you know about the game Modern Warfare 2; it caused quite a bit of controversy in the latter half of 2009. The game is a first person shooter with a heavy combat emphasis. It follows the events in the first Modern Warfare very closely and brings back several characters from the original.

 

As with most games in the Call of Duty franchise, it features a heavy AI load. This is not because of a complex AI routine, but more due to the sheer number of enemies in any given combat situation. It is also our single DX9 based game in our testing suite. Settings are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3310_81.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3310_82.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3310_39.png

 

With a delta of less than 10FPS between the fastest gaming performance and the slowest (and a margin of error of ~5FPS), we can "call" a winner, but to be honest you would not know it to see all of these systems perform.

 


Far Cry 2 (DX10)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: V1.00
Timedemo or Level Used: Clearing the Safe house through to the Rescue
Developer Homepage: http://www.ubi.com
Product Homepage: http://www. http://farcry.us.ubi.com

 

Far Cry 2 is a large sandbox style game. There are no levels here so as you move about the island you are on you do not have to wait for the "loading" sign to go away. It is mission driven so each mission is what you would normally think of as the next "level".

 

In the game you take the role of a mercenary who has been sent to kill the Jackal. Unfortunately your malaria kicks in and you end up being found by him. Long story short, you become the errand boy for a local militia leader and run all over the island doing his bidding. Settings we used for testing are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3310_83.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3310_40.png

 

With Far Cry 2 things are a little more dramatic. The performance delta here is over 30FPS. However, the difference between first and second place is only 1FPS.

 


Battlefield Bad Company 2 (DX11)

 

Version and / or Patch Used: V1.00
Timedemo or Level Used: From washing up on the beach to the mine fields.
Developer Homepage: http://www.ea.com/
Product Homepage: http://badcompany2.ea.com/

 

Battlefield Bad Company is another sequel and also another game "franchise". Bad Company 2 is also our DX11 Shooter game. The game follows a fictitious B company team on a mission to recover a Japanese defector. This puts you back in World War II (at least for the beginning of the game) while the multi-player game is centered on much more modern combat. For our testing we used the single player mode. Settings are shown below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3310_84.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3310_41.png

 

Another "win by a hair" situation with a delta of just under 12FPS. At the speeds all of the systems are running you would not know the winner from the loser.

 

Gaming Conclusion

 

We have been saying this for a while; the CPU just isn't the big player in high-resolution gaming performance. Yes, you will see some differences between CPUs and occasionally even see games coded for specific CPUs, but for the most part they are all going to perform within a few FPS of each other. This variance is normal and nothing to crow or cry about. Still, these tests are important to let you know that your CPU is not going to slow your games down.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more CPUs, Chipsets & SoCs content at our CPUs, Chipsets & SoCs reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases