TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,203 Reviews & Articles | 40,074 News Posts

Cooler Master HAF-X (RC-942-KKN1) Full Tower Case Preview - Inside the Cooler Master HAF-X RC-942-KKN1 Full Tower Case

Today TweakTown gets you up close and personal with Cooler Master's newest spawn, the HAF-X.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 26, 2010 6:10 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

Inside the Cooler Master HAF-X RC-942-KKN1 Full Tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3305_14.jpg

 

Removing two thumbscrews, the door panels open like a car door. Once they are swung open the front can be released and the panel set aside. Inside the windowed panel Cooler Master adds not only a 200mm fan, but also a shroud to better direct that airflow into your graphics cards.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3305_15.jpg

 

With the door removed we can get our first unimpeded view of the interior; well, almost. Time to get the goodies out of it and strip it down so I can show you what all we get.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3305_16.jpg

 

The top four 5.25" bays use Cooler Master's tool-less locks that we are used to seeing from them. The bottom two 5.25" bays are hot swappable and can be used with 3.5" and 2.5" drives. At the bottom, five hard drive sleds are present; again, what is typical in today's cases from Cooler Master. Tucked in front of these bays is the 200mm, red LED, intake fan.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3305_17.jpg

 

The hot swappable bays are controlled with this PCB attached to the case. Simply add a 4-pin Molex and two SATA cables and you have yourself two hot swappable bays ready to go.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3305_18.jpg

 

The motherboard area has basically the same layout as the 932. Of course, this time it is black and sports new wire management grommets to fill the holes that are in the original. The tray is labeled alphabetically to help set the risers by form factor and has a large CPU cooler access hole at the top.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3305_19.jpg

 

Near the floor you can see a large hole for passing wires behind the tray and above a series of slots and holes. These are for the adjustable wiring and power supply cover. The floor itself has two long rubber pads to support the PSU over the ventilated floor.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3305_20.jpg

 

Inside the rear we can see the 140mm fan Cooler Master installed. Both the fan on the top and this one in the rear come with 3-pin connections and 3-pin to 4-pin Molex adapters.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3305_21.jpg

 

Behind the scenes you can see a line of tabs for tying down all the wiring from the front I/O area. With the bump in this door, wiring really shouldn't be an issue as there is an additional ½" of room inside the panel.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3305_22.jpg

 

Connectivity of the front I/O is just like any other, except for one thing. That's right; you are looking at USB connections. These can be run out the case and into the rear I/O of the motherboard if you so choose. There is also an adapter that will convert it to a motherboard connection that I will show in the accessories section. All the rest of the connections are clearly labeled and ready to connect to any motherboard.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases