TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,488 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Proware EPICa Series EN-T800 SAS NAS - The Proware EN-T800A-CM

Proware brings an industrial feel to the NAS market, but can this product that is built like a tank keep up with the big boys in data transfer rates?

| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: May 18, 2010 1:25 pm
TweakTown Rating: 89%Manufacturer: Proware

The Proware EN-T800A-CM

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3285_08.jpg

 

I am glad I built such a largo photo booth, because this wouldn't have fit in my last one. Most of the added height comes from the additional area at the bottom designed to allow additional air to pass to the power supply. At the top we see the display unit that comes standard and built into the EN-T800.

 

Eight drive bays take up a majority of the front and each bay has a set of LEDs to show the status of the drive inside. One thing to make a note of with the drive bays, there is no locking mechanism found on the bays and this may pose as a problem for some businesses.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3285_09.jpg

 

The front display can be used to setup the system or make changes to the configuration.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3285_10.jpg

 

At the bottom there is a front USB port so you will be able to quickly back up your thumb drive or external hard drive to the NAS. There isn't a quick touch button on the NAS, a feature we have seen so often that we started to consider standard.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3285_11.jpg

 

The backplane for the HDDs appeared to be well made and here you can clearly see that the system will accept SAS drives.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3285_12.jpg

 

The side of the EN-T800 shows more of an industrial appearance; no brushed aluminum here, this NAS is all business.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3285_13.jpg

 

If you only saw the server from the back you might first think it was a desktop computer.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3285_14.jpg

 

Here we see the dual gigabit Ethernet ports as well as USB and a COM port for easy battery backup installation.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3285_15.jpg

 

The other side of the NAS nearly mirrors the first, except this time we found stickers for model and serial number information.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases