TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,252 Reviews & Articles | 40,807 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

Microcool Banchetto 101 Tech-Bench - Assembly of The Microcool Banchetto 101 Chassis

Having very easy access to swap out cards, memory, or even a CPU just got easier! Microcool offers an open air solution with the Banchetto 101.

| Cables & Accessories in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 6, 2010 5:36 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: Microcool

Assembly of The Microcool Banchetto 101 Chassis

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3268_23.jpg

 

As I mentioned, with both sides open to the air, simply slide in your drive of choice, possibly a reservoir, and mount with the provided thumbscrews. Pretty easy so far!

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3268_24.jpg

 

Mounting the power supply can only be done one way, as the holes aren't universal to flip it by accident. This mounting position will leave the PSU with the fan pulling air from the open side rather than from against the 5.25" bays.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3268_25.jpg

 

At this stage, just replace the two thumbscrews that hold the anodized tray into place and keep adding components. I do like that this position offers the plug and switch to be accessible from the front, however the wires on the PSU do need to be longer with this chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3268_26.jpg

 

The 3.5" drive tray is more of the same. Just line up the drive and grab some more thumbscrews, and mount up to four drives here. Also in the chassis, there is a cutaway above and below this assembly to allow for convection to keep the drives from getting toasty with no fan in place.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3268_27.jpg

 

Both components are back in place and ready to be cabled. Now I get to turn my attention to the water cooling aspect.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3268_28.jpg

 

Right away I noticed that even as hard as they may try, this "universal" assembly may not fit every configuration. As you can see, the holes to mount the radiator to the plate are a bit off, enough to where I couldn't use 5 of the screws. It is, however, mounted really solid with the screws I did manage to get in.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3268_29.jpg

 

Part of the reason for the misalignment is that the cut out made to allow the barbs to face inward hits on the radiator. A little trimming would solve this issue in most instances.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3268_30.jpg

 

Since the Foxconn motherboard looks like Rainbow Bright had a hand in painting it, I chose to keep with the multi-colored theme and strap on some Apolish fans to go along with it. So far things are still going easy despite the previous setback. Now I just need to get the tubing and pump in place.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3268_31.jpg

 

Before you mount this tray back into place, be sure to stage the wiring. Get all the components wired and lead the power wires up and out the top. Once the water cooling is mounted, it may not be so easy to get to these again.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3268_32.jpg

 

Mounting things up to make sure I have everything ready, I took this picture. I still need to finalize the tubing and wire up the motherboard tray.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases