TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,011 Reviews & Articles | 38,771 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

Corsair Obsidian 700D Full Tower Chassis - Inside the Corsair Obsidian Series 700D Full Tower Case

Corsair brings us the second incarnation of the Obsidian Series chassis. This time we are looking at the 700D, the 800D's simpler personality.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 3, 2010 4:34 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Corsair

Inside the Corsair Obsidian Series 700D Full Tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3262_15.jpg

 

Once the panel is removed we can see there is little difference in the two at first glance. What stands out the most is the redesign of the drive assembly and the lack of the three plastic covers that come in the 800D.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3262_16.jpg

 

The same five bay racks are used for the 5.25" drives or accessories, but the hot swappable SATA drive bays are removed in favor of this side mounted drive assembly with sleds. With the redesign the fan had to be moved as well and is now located under the assembly versus the side mounting of the 800D's assembly.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3262_17.jpg

 

Since they twisted the top hard drive assembly, why not continue? Corsair did just that. Even the dual rack at the bottom is turned for easier access. I must admit, getting a drive here in the 800D can be a real "pain". This system should solve that issue.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3262_18.jpg

 

There is a cool feature for the 140mm fan included to cool the drives. There is a thumbscrew that can be removed and the fan easily slides out for cleaning; just make sure not to tie the wire too tight when doing wire management.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3262_19.jpg

 

The motherboard tray is very similar in both chassis', but this time not only does it fit mATX, ATX and EATX motherboards, but I do believe the CPU cooler access hole has gained some size, too. This should make it a fair bit easier to get to the back plates without removing the motherboard; something I have had to do in my 800D with GIGABYTE boards for some time now.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3262_20.jpg

 

With the drives in one area and the motherboard sectioned off in a second area, leaves us with the third section for the power supply. The management holes throughout work great and you will soon see they make this chassis a dream to wire up. Also notice the feet; strong bars of solid aluminum support this chassis and also have rubber pads to keep it from marring any surfaces.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3262_21.jpg

 

Inside the rear of the 700D we see the 140mm fan with a really long wire that exhausts the chassis. Below are the seven non-vented expansion slot covers held in with thumbscrews. Just below the last slot is an extra bit of venting. As I mentioned, if you want to run a Tri-SLI or 3-way crossfire setup, they allow for the dual slot cooler at the bottom to have a place to pump air out of the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3262_22.jpg

 

Looking from the other side of the 700D we can see all of the wire management at once. There is a fair amount of room behind the hard drives and down the 5.25" bays to keep wires tidy. Beyond that just pick the nearest hole for the application and poke the wires through! Either version offers a similar layout, but the 700D has the larger CPU access hole, which I removed for a good idea of its actual size.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3262_23.jpg

 

All of the supplied wiring is black, as is the case with the power and LED connections for the motherboard. Corsair took the time to be sure even the USB, FireWire and audio cables are black; this makes them virtually disappear once the build is finished.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases