TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,251 Reviews & Articles | 40,790 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Cyanogen CEO: "Samsung couldn't build a good OS if they tried"

Corsair Obsidian 700D Full Tower Chassis - The Corsair Obsidian Series 700D Full Tower Case

Corsair brings us the second incarnation of the Obsidian Series chassis. This time we are looking at the 700D, the 800D's simpler personality.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 3, 2010 4:34 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Corsair

The Corsair Obsidian Series 700D Full Tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3262_07.jpg

 

Right out of the box there are two things that are obvious removals from the 800D version. Those are the windowed side panel, which may or may not be an issue for you, as well as the access panel for the hot swappable drives in the front. Other than that we are looking at the same exterior.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3262_08.jpg

 

The front of the 700D comes with the all aluminum face plate, as did the 800D. The top starts with a power button with LED lighting next to the closed front I/O panel. Below are the five 5.25" bays with easily removable covers. Once again, as with the 800D, the only bit of naming in the entire chassis is seen in the logo at the bottom.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3262_09.jpg

 

Turning the case to view the left side, we are greeted with a lot of textured matte black paint over a steel panel. Gone is the windowed view of the 800D in this version.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3262_10.jpg

 

No major changes in the rear view either! - We start with the vented area at the top above a pair of holes for water tubing to pass through. Then we run into the rear I/O area next to the 140mm rear exhaust fan. Seven slots are used here for expansion cards, but there is a vent to allow GPU heat to escape in the triple card arrangement.

 

Lastly, the PSU is mounted in the bottom. One thing I did skip over was the two buttons at the top, right and left sides. These are just simply pushed and the door practically falls out of place into your hand.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3262_11.jpg

 

Looks a lot like the other side, doesn't it? Simple clean mating lines are all the enjoyment you see from either side with the panels on.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3262_12.jpg

 

The top is the same as well. Leaving the room for three 120mm fans or up to a triple radiator to be mounted here allows for much better airflow, or a very convenient place to hide the radiator internally.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3262_13.jpg

 

In the floor of the chassis you will find a very large ventilated area to allow for even the largest of power supplies to be able to draw cool air through. Just in front of this area is room to place another 120mm fan if you should choose to use one. Removable through the back of the chassis, underneath, is the washable dust filter. Using my 800D for quite a while now, it has caught quite a bit that would have otherwise ended up in my PSU.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3262_14.jpg

 

I mentioned the front I/O was hidden in the front on shot of the 700D. With a gentle push in the upper right corner, the panel clicks in and releases, exposing what you see here. On the left half are four USB 2.0 ports, two pair on either side, and the audio 3.5mm jacks in the middle. Then to finish it off there is the IEEE 1394 (FireWire) and reset buttons on the right.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases