TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,158 Reviews & Articles | 39,567 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

EVGA P55 FTW (P55 Express) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

In making a debut to our motherboard section, we have EVGA's P55 FTW overclocking board up on the bench today. Let's see what it can do.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Apr 21, 2010 7:32 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: EVGA

BIOS

 

The BIOS on the EVGA will be a little confusing to the average user. They include quite a bit of higher end features and options that many will not have any idea on what they are; much less how to use them.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3240_15.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3240_16.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3240_17.jpg

 

Still, the BIOS is fairly well laid out and once you are used to it, it's simple to work with. One of the things that drove me nuts while using the P55 FTW was the inability to manually enter numbers for voltages. I hate having to move through a list using the arrow keys. It takes a good deal of time to get to where I want to be and (to me) is extremely annoying.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3240_18.jpg

 

One of the places you are sure to spend a good deal of time is the Frequency/Voltage section of the BIOS. Here you can find almost all of the options you need to overclock your CPU.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3240_19.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3240_20.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3240_21.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3240_22.jpg

 


Overclocking

 

EVGA has a reputation for overclocking. For many EVGA is the name to go to when you want to push your CPU and go for the records for benchmarks like PCMark and 3DMark. However, our experience with the P55 FTW was not what we expected. We went in thinking about high BCLKs and CPU speeds, but only hit 4.198GHz stable. This was regardless of the RAM we used.

 

For some reason when we powered up the board we could not get it to run over a 210 BCLK (CPU-Z shows it as 209.98). This was a little disappointing, but we also did not have a ton of time to play around with the settings to see what the issue might have been.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3240_23.png

 

You can see the validation for the EVGA P55 FTW here.

 


EVGA E-Leet Utility

 

The EVGA E-Leet utility was not an overwhelmingly great piece of software. In reality it looked like a customized version of CPU-Z. The feel was more of a reporting tool than an overclocking one. It is not even close to tools like GIGABYTE's EZTune 6 or ASUS' TurboV.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3240_24.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3240_25.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3240_26.png

 

In the end I only used this to get the readout of CPU speed quickly, but still used the regular CPU-Z for my verification.

 


As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary. Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases