TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,012 Reviews & Articles | 38,783 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

Apple iPad 16GB WiFi Slate Computer - The Stock Apps - Revisited (Cont.)

The Apple iPad is out and all the reviews are hitting the web fast. We take a turn at the entry level 16GB WiFi model to see if it is really worth it.

| Tablets in Mobile Devices | Posted: Apr 9, 2010 1:29 pm
TweakTown Rating: 72%Manufacturer: Apple

- iTunes and the App Store

 

As with just about everything else, the new layout for both iTunes and the App Store is quite different from what you might be used to. I am not even sure if it is better to be honest; it is just different. This brings up something very interesting.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_32.png

 

At the launch one of the claims that Apple made was that because there were so many iPod Touch and iPhone users, the iPad would fit right in because people already knew the interface. Yet, things are different once you get inside the iPad. The layouts are different by necessity and due to the major differences between the two formats, but still it is not as cut and dry as Apple would like you to think.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_33.png

 

Still, both the iTunes and App Store interfaces are easily learnable after a few minutes inside each.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_34.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_35.png

 

- Settings

 

We briefly covered this application earlier; there is really not much that is different except for appearance. You still have the same general options and limitations on what you can and cannot do in the settings pages.

 

- Mail

 

This app works pretty much the same as the one on the iPhone. Apple has changed the look (as we mentioned above) to give it a new "feel", but other than that you are not getting a whole lot more out of Mail than you would from the iPhone.

 

- Safari

 

Ah, one of my favourite topics; the browser on the iPhone. Well, you are pretty much getting the same thing on the iPad. Safari for iPhone has been listed as "the best way to experience the web" in many Apple advertisements. The problem with that is the complete and total lack of any support for Flash or Silverlight.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_36.png

 

These two items make up a large portion of the internet experience, yet for some reason many members of the press keep making excuses for it not being on Apple's products. We have talked about it before and it all comes down to control and money.

 

But all of that aside, even with Flash and Silverlight you are still missing a large part of the internet. A recent article stated that you can still go to sites like Facebook, Flickr and others which is true. However, you cannot upload anything to those sites using Safari, as you have zero access to the file system.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_37.png

 

Take a look at what you get when you try and upload photos to Facebook using Safari; the same thing with Flickr and of course same thing with Photobucket.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_38.png

 

Now I know that I am going to catch hell here as there are Apps for each of these. But here is the rub with that; Apple says it will not allow applications that mimic functions of the device. Ok, so that means that the Flickr, Photobucket, Facebook and many other Apps should not be allowed as they mimic something that Safari SHOULD be capable of doing.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_39.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_40.png

 

What is worse is that both of these apps look terrible on the iPad. As they were designed for the iPhone's resolution and screen size, you have to use the pixel double feature to get them full screen. Otherwise they only occupy a small window in the center of the 9.1-inch iPad screen. As you can see, once you use the pixel double, all of the text starts to look like you are back on an 800x600 monitor with no 3D (or even 2D) acceleration. It is a joke to be honest. And there are many, many apps that are like that. Their only purpose is to fill in the gaps in the way the iPhone OS is restricted for the user.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_41.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_42.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_43.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_44.png

 

- Photos and iPod

 

The last two items in the "pre-installed" app list are Photos and iPod. These two have also benefited from the larger screen area. The photos app has been given a very nice make over. However, I am a tad disappointed that even on the iPad I cannot rotate the view. It remains stubbornly in portrait mode. You can move it around and even spin it with your fingers, but...as soon as you let go, it snaps right back to the original position.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_45.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_46.png

 

There is also no way to create a new album inside the photos app. This is something I would think Apple would want to put in place. It would be an excellent option for people that might be considering the camera connectivity kit.

 

The iPod app is really the same app found on the iPod Touch or iPhone with a larger screen area and a cleaner UI. Nothing much to see or talk about here.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_47.png

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Mobile Devices content at our Mobile Devices reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases