TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,054 Reviews & Articles | 38,941 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win a Biostar J1800NH2 Motherboard (Global Entry!)
TRENDING NOW: DisplayPort 1.3 announced, supports 5K, as well as 4K at 120Hz

Apple iPad 16GB WiFi Slate Computer - The Stock Apps - Revisited

The Apple iPad is out and all the reviews are hitting the web fast. We take a turn at the entry level 16GB WiFi model to see if it is really worth it.

| Tablets in Mobile Devices | Posted: Apr 9, 2010 1:29 pm
TweakTown Rating: 72%Manufacturer: Apple

The Stock Apps - revisited

 

Starting at the top left and working our way through the stock apps, we can see that Apple did spend a little time to make these more than just ports from the iPhone.

 

- Calendar

 

The Calendar app is quite attractive when you are in landscape mode. I like the way they have made it look more like a planner than just a bunch of dates. The inclusion of a small line with all of the days of the month is a nice touch.

 

When you rotate to portrait mode the calendar looks a bit silly; I would have almost preferred them to limit it to one page instead of just stretching the book.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_19.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_20.png

 

The List view is also a great idea and shows all of your upcoming appointments in a list form. As you tap each the details appear on a page to the right.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_21.png

 

- Contacts

 

Here we again see Apple making the most of the extra screen size. The contacts app is clean and nice to look at. It is nothing spectacular, but it is functional and looks good.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_22.png

 

- Notes

 

I really like the new Notes application. One of the problems I had with the one on the iPhone was the way that it handled multiple notes. Again, you had to tap multiple times to get back and forth between notes; it was a pain and made the app of little use to me (and many others I know of). I might have used it a handful of times when I did not have a piece of paper and a pen handy. But I honestly think that I used it no more than 10 times since I bought my first iPhone (original model).

 

Now with the iPad, I have used it several times and even used it to take notes during a phone conference. I do with that Apple would drop in a hand writing tool (like you find in a few other smartphones), but maybe we will see that in iPhone OS 8....

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_23.png

 

- Maps

 

The iPad does have a form of GPS (WiFi Assisted) and could potentially be used as a GPS device for driving instructions (although I think I would wait for the 3G version before giving that a try). For the most part the maps app is identical to the one you are used to on the iPhone.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_24.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_25.png

 

- Videos

 

As we mentioned above, movies and videos are in their own app like on the iPod Touch. I guess this makes sense, but as I have been used to the iPhone having them in the iPod app, I was a little surprised to see this. I guess I was wrong in my statement that the iPad is a giant iPhone; it is more like a giant iPod Touch. Or at least the WiFi version is at any rate.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_26.png

 

The Videos App does give you a nice layout with an image of all of your synced or downloaded movies. If you grab them from iTunes you can see all of the information about the movie including a synopsis, who is in it, who it was directed by etc.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_27.png

 

For all of us that like to put our own movies into iTunes for use on our devices, I have some good news. The current version of Videora for the iPhone 3G S has support for the iPad in a roundabout way.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_28.png

 

I stumbled across this quite by accident when I was making a file; I found that by using the Apple TV H.246 720p setting you get great quality video for that nice clear screen. So you can get your movie collection on your iPad right way without the need to wait on a new product.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_29.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_30.png

 

- YouTube

 

The layout of YouTube is also different from the way you see it on either the iPod Touch or the iPhone. It is a little cleaner and much closer to the way you would see it on the web. Of course, it is not exactly the way you would see it when you are looking for something, but when you get to the end of the video you are watching then things begin to look familiar.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3226_31.png

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Mobile Devices content at our Mobile Devices reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases