Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,452 Reviews & Articles | 43,069 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Grand Theft Auto V benchmarked at 1080p, 1440p and 4K

A-DATA Nobility N002 128GB USB 3.0 + SATA-II Portable HDD - The A-DATA Nobility N002 128GB USB 3.0

Everyone has an external HDD, but A-DATA has the smallest and fastest you can buy.

By: | HDDs in Storage | Posted: Apr 9, 2010 6:19 am
TweakTown Rating: 89%Manufacturer: A-DATA

The A-DATA Nobility N002 128GB USB 3.0

 

content/3/2/3225_06.jpg

 

Here we get our second look at the front of the A-DATA Nobility N002. On the surface it looks like any other 2.5 inch form factor solid state drive.

 

content/3/2/3225_07.jpg

 

On the bottom of the drive we see that things start to change a little. There is a cover over the SATA II power and data connectors and four rubber feet cover the bottom holes that are normally used for mounting. All of the rubber pieces can be removed and the N002 used as a standard SATA II drive.

 

content/3/2/3225_08.jpg

 

Here we see the standard data and power SATA connectors are where they should be for normal operation in regular SATA.

 

content/3/2/3225_09.jpg

 

This is where things get interesting; on the side we found a USB 3.0 miniport.

 

content/3/2/3225_10.jpg

 

Our undercover investigation found that A-DATA is already using the latest variant of the Indilinx Barefoot called ECO.

 

The additional hardware to enable USB 3.0 also adds to the cost and here we see it in the upper right hand corner.

 

content/3/2/3225_11.jpg

 

On the back we see the rest of the Intel flash. There are sixteen chips total, eight on each side.

 

content/3/2/3225_12.jpg

 

Here we get a closer look at the USB 3.0 hardware and it is not from NEC. It looks like we have a new player in the USB 3.0 game.

 

content/3/2/3225_13.jpg

 

The A-DATA Nobility N002 comes with a USB 3.0 cable that is around 2 feet long. Here we see the cable next to the drive.

 

Click the banner below to learn more about SanDisk SSDs:

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down