TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,675 Reviews & Articles | 36,071 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Western Digital VelociRaptor 600GB SATA 6G Hard Drive - The Western Digital VelociRaptor SATA 6G

Now with 600GB of capacity and a new SATA 6G interface, the VelociRaptor gives power users a reason to roar.

| HDDs in Storage | Posted: Apr 8, 2010 5:15 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: Western Digital

The Western Digital VelociRaptor SATA 6G

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3223_04.jpg

 

Western Digital sends OEM packaged drives to reviewers so we didn't get to show the retail packaging this round. We have all seen the WD retail packing before and know that the drives are packed very well in retail trim.

 

All of the information is located on the top label that is found directly on the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3223_05.jpg

 

On the bottom of the adapter we see that it still has the mounting locations that are found on standard 3.5 inch form factor drives, so you will not have an issue mounting the new VelociRaptor in locations that use the bottom mounting system.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3223_06.jpg

 

The first round of VelociRaptor drives is why we check for standard power and data SATA connectors and here we see that WD learned from the first VelociRaptor and made sure to get the placement right this round.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3223_07.jpg

 

All three of the standard mounts were also found on the side.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3223_08.jpg

 

There isn't much special about the front of the drive, but this view shows the height of the IcePack's fins on the side.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3223_09.jpg

 

We noticed something odd about the adapter used in the IcePack; it appeared that where the drive connects to the adapter that it may be a SAS drive. With the drive separated from the adapter we see that it is not a SAS connector.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3223_10.jpg

 

A quick look at the bottom of the drive doesn't tell us much since all of the components are mounted to the other side of the PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3223_11.jpg

 

With the drive out of the IcePack we were able to snap a shot of the thermal transfer materials used to move heat from the drive to the IcePack.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3223_12.jpg

 

We were correct on the pin configuration on the adapter. Here we see that it is defiantly setup to accept SAS drives, but the additional pins is not the only thing needed to make a SAS drive run. For fun I installed a Seagate 15K.2 SAS drive into the adapter and attempted to operate it off of a standard SATA cable. SAS drives do not turn on just from receiving power, a command has to be sent to the drive and SATA does not support this command, thus the 15K.2 just sat there in an inoperable state.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below