TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,437 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

ViewSonic VNB108 Pinetrail Atom N450 10.1-inch LED-backlit Netbook - The ViewSonic VNB108

ViewSonic has introduced its Asian only sold VNB108 10.1-inch LED-backlit netbook soon after Intel came out with the new Pinetrail platform.

| Netbooks (EOL) in Laptops | Posted: Apr 7, 2010 1:56 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: ViewSonic

The ViewSonic VNB108

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3222_02.jpg

 

First up we get a look at the top lid of the VNB108 and it is very basic with a simple ViewSonic logo towards the top. As we said, this is of course the black version, but the VNB108 also comes in white, red and blue depending on your color choice. It uses a very smooth black plastic finish and it is clear that decent quality materials have been used due to the smooth touch and also decent durability of the material that feels quite strong.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3222_03.jpg

 

The base of the netbook is pretty standard with several air vent holes and two 1 watt speakers at the bottom left and right. At the back you can see the included Li-ion 3 cell (2200mAh) battery installed.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3222_04.jpg

 

The keyboard on the VNB108 is pretty decent - it takes up the full size of the netbook front and has a standard full size left shift. The track pad is a decent size and while not the biggest we've seen, it's rather workable. There are plenty of hotkey functions such as increasing and decreasing screen brightness and speaker volume and disabling or enabling wireless and the webcam.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3222_05.jpg

 

At the front right of the netbook on the front you get a series of LED indicators that tell you what is happening.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3222_06.jpg

 

There is only one button above the keyboard and that is the power on button that glows blue when the netbook is turned on. Simple, yet stylish!

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3222_07.jpg

 

The VNB108 uses what ViewSonic calls an 'advanced' 10.1-inch or 25cm LED-backlit screen and from a company that specializes in displays, you would expect this part of the netbook to excel above others on the market. The screen is capable of a 1024 x 600 resolution (we would have preferred 1280 x 720 for 720p HD support) and is easy on the eye, simple to read and very bright. It also uses an anti-glare material which eliminates annoying finger prints as well as annoying reflections. Some people like a glossy display while others prefer this type, so it is something to keep in mind.

 

Just above the monitor in the center area is a web camera that is capable of a 640 pixel resolution.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3222_08.jpg

 

Starting on the right side of the netbook looking from the front, we have two USB 2.0 ports, headphone and microphone jacks, VGA output, the 10/100 Ethernet port (Gigabit would have been much nicer!) and a Kensington lock port for security.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3222_09.jpg

 

Now on the left side of the netbook looking from the front we have another USB 2.0 port (making a total of three), a 4 in 1 card reader supporting MS, MMC, SD and MSPro flash memory cards, a hot air extracting vent and the AC power input jack.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3222_10.jpg

 

Here we get a look at the front profile of the VNB108 netbook. It is rather sleek and slim and is only 34mm high. We didn't show the back profile as it is blank with nothing to expose.

 

Overall the ViewSonic VNB108 is a rather plain looking notebook with unassuming looks, but that is what I like about it. The simplicity it possesses is stunning and has a simple style that is well designed and rather functional with a good keyboard and fantastic screen. Of course, being a netbook it is lightweight and only comes in at 1.2Kg net with the battery installed. It's almost like a feather compared to my regular notebook.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Laptops content at our Laptops reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases