TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,060 Reviews & Articles | 38,954 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Strap an iPad to your face with AirVR for mobile VR

Enermax Staray ECA3171-BR-AP Mid Tower Chassis - The Build and Finished Product

Simple lines, red accents and a few Apollish fans might make the Enermax Staray your new mid tower. Let's take a closer look and see.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 6, 2010 5:55 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Enermax

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3219_24.jpg

 

Getting the front ready and about to snap the panel back on, but I figured it's a great time to show how open the mesh is even though it's backed with a dust catching foam liner. A tab on either side allows for the bay cover to be removed from the appropriate slots, feed the wiring back through the oval hole on the right, and snap the cover back on.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3219_25.jpg

 

I know the top is a bit tough to make out, but the large black handle lifts from the top of the expansion slot frame and allows the retention mechanism to swing open to allow for expansion card installation. Simply put in the card (or cards), align the ends with the screw holes and simply click the lock back into place. It actually holds the 9800GTX really well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3219_26.jpg

 

With a little creativity and patience you can really end up with a well managed product in the end. I for one am a bit surprised at how well it all came out. Hiding most of the extra wires above the DVD drive helped a bunch, but the only obvious wiring is on the GPU and on the floor of the case, but there is a reason I left that out.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3219_27.jpg

 

The rear of the Staray looks much better once the power supply hole is filled and the I/O shield is in place. It's hard to see, but I also added the padlock loop to the right side.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3219_28.jpg

 

This is where I hid the rest of the mess. There is plenty of room to hide all the extra I/O wires and still allow for me to get all the rest of the power supplies around the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3219_29.jpg

 

This is why I left the 4-pin Molex line laying on the floor, planning ahead to power the fans in the door panel. The Staray is just a few short steps away from powering it up.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3219_30.jpg

 

Powered up, the front glows with a bit of red from the power button and depending on the preference, push the fan lighting button until you reach the desired effect. I set this one to the swirl effect; that is why only three LEDs are lit.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3219_31.jpg

 

The fans in the side panel are switched to the full on position; the LEDs reflect quite nicely off the chromed finish and lead to a very unique lighting effect.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3219_32.jpg

 

The added fan for the exhaust reflects in the same manner, it's the grill design playing down the effect, but not the flood of light. I almost forgot to mention, these fans are currently running all connected to 12 volts of power and they are really silent; I mean seriously, I could barely hear them running.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3219_33.jpg

 

What I do like is that the lighting isn't overpowering and you have to look for the direct lighting effect, otherwise there is a subtle red glow around the Staray.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases