TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,200 Reviews & Articles | 40,014 News Posts

GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD7 (X58 Express) Motherboard - The Box and What's Inside

What do you get when you cross an Intel Core i7-980X with a GIGABYTE X58A-UD7? We aim to find out the answer to that question today!

| Socket LGA 1366 in Motherboards | Posted: Apr 5, 2010 7:32 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

Package and Contents

 

The X58A-UD7 comes in a very big box; the front of which is covered in icons expanding on the features of the board. You see the now familiar "333" logo which means that you have USB 3.0, SATA 3.0 and 3x the USB power.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3217_02.jpg

 

It follows the trend of having a front flap on it that allows you to gaze (longingly) at the board. On the backside of that flap is even more information explaining why you should be buying this board.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3217_03.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3217_04.jpg

 

The back of the box is more of the same that you find on the front, except maybe a little more cluttered. GIGABYTE has also chosen to use a reflective coating on the outside of the motherboard box. To me this is tacky and makes photographing the box more difficult. However, as GB is not alone in doing this, I cannot fault them for it too much.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3217_05.jpg

 

Inside the box you get pretty much everything you need to get things up and running.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3217_06.jpg

 

One additional item that is not a standard fare for a motherboard is the extra cooling fins for the X58 Northbridge. These bolt onto the heatsink and not only help keep the Northbridge cool, but also help with keeping the rest of the board components cool.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3217_90.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3217_91.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3217_92.jpg

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases