TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,489 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

TRENDnet TEW-653AP 802.11n PoE Wireless Access Point - The WebUI

What do you get when you combine PoE, 802.11n, WDS and some actual thinking about design and usage? You get the TRENDnet TEW-653AP.

| Routers & Access Points in Networking | Posted: Apr 1, 2010 7:02 am
TweakTown Rating: 81%Manufacturer: TRENDnet

The WebUI

 

You have already had a nice glimpse into the Web User Interface with the setup we took you through before, but there are a few more areas to cover in the Web UI that are pretty important.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3212_16.png

 

As the TEW-653AP is a wireless device you will want to head over to the Wireless section and take a look at things there. We setup our test TEW-653AP in AP mode. This gives us some interesting freedom with our configuration. We now have the ability to open up more than one SSID (Service Set Identifier). You do this from a drop-down box and simply click on the number of SSIDs you want. For our testing we chose 2.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3212_17.png

 

Although the Advanced link is next in line, you should head over to the Security link immediately after you create any new SSIDs to make sure you are not leaving yourself open to intrusion. You can setup security for each SSID independently which is handy for clients that might not support (or need to use) more or less secure methods of connection.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3212_18.png

 

The Advanced link gives us options to control the way that the TEW-653AP handles data and packets in route. The fragmentation threshold sets the size limit for packets. Anything above the specified size will be broken up into fragments to maintain performance. The number shown is in bytes; this setting can be important if there is a lot of background noise in your location. However, for most home networks this can be safely left at the default level.

 

The RTS (Request to Send) setting is another setting that will help you out in congested or noisy networks. If you are getting a lot of collisions then setting this to a lower level will help. However, adjusting this down will also increase overhead. Unless you are experiencing a lot of collisions or having connection issues this should be left at the default.

 

There are additional settings on the Advanced page as well, but as with all of the others they should not be altered unless you are having connectivity issues.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3212_19.png

 

The TEW-653AP also supports Wireless Protected Setup. This is an often unused feature that can allow for easy and secure setup of wireless connections.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3212_20.png

 

Another interesting feature of the TEW-653AP is the ability to setup VLANs for the multiple SSIDs. With this you can segment your wireless traffic and allow for multiple networks like you would with many layer 2 switches. This segmenting does require the use of a switch that supports VLAN tags as well, though. Otherwise, even though you separate the connections at the AP, they are still able to access all the same traffic once they hit the switch the TEW-653AP is connected to.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3212_21.png

 

The next area is another one that is included for flexibility and to resolve any issues you might have. This is the Wireless Multi-Media link. Here you can adjust the priority tags to the different types of media steams. There are tags for Video, Audio and VoIP traffic.

 

There are two sections we did not directly cover in the wireless area; these are the filter and the client list. The filter is pretty easy and allows you to filter out unauthorized systems by MAC Address, whilst the client list is just what it says, it is a list of wireless clients that are actively connected to the AP.

 

Heading back up into the System area, we are going to take a quick look at a few of the pages to round out the TEW-653AP.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3212_22.png

 

The Operation Mode link is where you can change the way the TEW-653AP works. Your choices are Access Point, Repeater and Wireless Distribution System.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3212_23.png

 

The DHCP page is where you would setup and configure the internal DHCP server.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3212_24.png

 

SNMP stands for Simple Network Management Protocol and allows you to capture information about your networks status including up and down ports, collisions and other status data.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3212_25.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3212_26.png

 

The TEW-653AP has a scheduler that can allow you to put the AP into a power saving mode. This is great for offices that would not want or need the device to run after business hours. You can enter up to 8 schedule profiles for a great deal of flexibility.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3212_27.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3212_28.png

 

The Monitor link is a pretty impressive page. It provides you with a visual representation of the traffic statistics for both the Ethernet port and the Wireless LAN. If you need more detailed statistics you can click on the graph if you want to see a higher level view of traffic patterns.

 

Under the Tools section there are a number of items that are concerned with the direct administration of the TEW-653AP. One of my favorites is the ability to turn off the LEDs. To me this is just plain cool; I like to have the ability to control the number of blinking blue, green and red LEDs in my work area, so this is an excellent feature for me as well as for many potential business users.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3212_29.png

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases