TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,008 Reviews & Articles | 38,762 News Posts

Danger Den Black-Series Tower 21 Bruiser Chassis - Black-Series Tower 21 Fit and Finish

Danger Den sends us an all acrylic, 'build it yourself' chassis. I've never assembled my own chassis before; this could be fun!

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 31, 2010 1:29 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Danger Den

Black-Series Tower 21 Fit and Finish

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3210_18.jpg

 

The chassis is for the most part structurally sound at this point, although my hardware package was lacking ten #17 screws to actually build it right. But I digress, as I had enough to continue on with the build. Here I have the PSU, optical drive and hard drive all installed and ready to do a fair bit of wire managing "magic", as I don't have a modular power unit to use and I highly recommend you use one in this case.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3210_19.jpg

 

Not the best solution, but I don't plan to use this daily, so I stashed all the extra wires here for now. With the four bay drive piece (the two drive piece is shown), I would have had more room to house wiring or just use it for four drives.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3210_20.jpg

 

If you remember, in the hardware goodies there were three screws and an Allen wrench. Well, here are the holes for them and all I have to say is, good luck! The holes aren't tapped, so trying to start a machine screw in this acrylic just got interesting. I couldn't get them to thread in my chassis with the supplied wrench. No matter really; the other screws that hold it to the rear panel keep this piece in line.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3210_21.jpg

 

With a bunch of zip ties and what I thought was some creative placement, my PSU wire management is left looking like, well, spaghetti. This is why I strongly suggest a modular PSU and if an option, the short cable kit to go along with it. Even so, with a full ATX motherboard and all my vital components in, it is relatively clean for how open the design is.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3210_22.jpg

 

A nice feature is sometimes the simplest thing. Taking the time to line up and drill access holes to pass a screwdriver through is something most steel cases don't even offer. It's nice to see Danger Den didn't overlook the easy things that can make or break an installation.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3210_23.jpg

 

Looking closer inside, you can see there is a ton of room for radiators, tubing, pumps; whatever you could possibly want to stick into this case. If you don't want an optical drive, the bay res can be set there, freeing up even more space for goodies like lights and such.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3210_24.jpg

 

There isn't anything wrong here, but I just want to drive home the fact that this chassis concept takes great planning on the part of the builder. Simple things like connecting fans and hiding the wiring gets a lot tougher with it all exposed to the world as it is.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases