TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,252 Reviews & Articles | 40,822 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

ASRock P55DE3 (P55 Express) Motherboard - The Motherboard

ASRock shows us that performance and overclocking do not have to cost you an arm and a leg with the P55DE3.

| Socket LGA 1156 in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 29, 2010 2:08 pm
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: ASRock

The Board

 

The ASRock P55DE3 is a clean looking board. It is obvious from even the first glance that ASRock meant this board to be slender in terms of junk thrown on it.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3207_05.jpg

 

Looking at the top of the board, we see that while ASRock has put some money into solid capacitors for the CPU, they have not done so for the whole board. You can clearly see two traditional capacitors right above the power socket.

 

Looking at the placement, it would appear that ASRock carefully chose the ones to put more money into. Overall, the layout in this upper area is clean and surprisingly is not covered by any of the usual heatsinks you see on other boards.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3207_06.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3207_07.jpg

 

For those of you that worry about this type of thing, ASRock has put a Lotes CPU hold down on the P55DE3.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3207_08.jpg

 

Looking at the lower half of the board, we see a fairly clean layout to the peripheral slots. Granted, there is one PCI slot that will go away if you use two dual height GPUs, but that is nothing unique to ASRock.

 

Interestingly enough, while there is a Floppy connector at the bottom of the board, there is no spot for a PATA drive. I think many would have preferred the PATA port over the floppy, but as there are still quite a few people using Windows XP, that floppy port comes in handy for installing new RAID and SATA drivers.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3207_09.jpg

 

Looking at the lower-right corner, we see again that this is a budget board. Unlike many boards, you are not getting six SATA ports (or, is it 50 now?!). Instead ASRock has opted for a slimmed down four SATA ports.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3207_10.jpg

 

The I/O ports are also typical of what you expect to see these days on a P55 board, although soon the lack of USB 3.0 will be noticeable as more companies put this on.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3207_11.jpg

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases