TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,157 Reviews & Articles | 39,566 News Posts

Foxconn A9DA-S (AMD 890GX) Motherboard - The Motherboard

Now that we have tested out the big players, Foxconn comes by with their 890GX board. Could this be the best of the bunch?

| Socket AM3/AM3+ in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 25, 2010 6:55 am
TweakTown Rating: 80%Manufacturer: Foxconn

The Motherboard

 

The Foxconn A9DA-S is a pretty cool looking board. With its black PCB and yellow slots and fan mount, I have to say that I like it. It is also not terribly cluttered. The heatsinks also add an element of style to the board.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3198_05.jpg

 

As the A9DA-S follows the same ATX design used by almost every board out, we will break our trip around the board into two parts. The top portion of the board has all of the power connectors and regulators, as well as both the RAM slots and the AM3+ CPU socket.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3198_06.jpg

 

The heatsinks for the 890GX Northbridge and the power regulators are very interesting. I am not sure how well they will work at keeping those parts cool, but they do have a nice look to them.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3198_07.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3198_08.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3198_09.jpg

 

The lower half of the board is almost clean in comparison to some boards I have worked with. There are the same two (almost useless) PCIe x1 slots stuck between the two x16 mechanical slots (they only function at x8 for Crossfire). There are also two PCI 2.0 slots; one of these will not be usable if you have a dual height graphics card in the lower slot.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3198_10.jpg

 

On the other side of the lower half we have the six SATA 3.0 ports, a set of diagnostic LEDs and a pair of buttons (power and reset). There is also a nice row of USB 2.0 headers.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3198_11.jpg

 

The I/O ports are the typical ones you would find on just about any 890GX based motherboard (and just about any motherboard with an IGP).

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3198_12.jpg

 

The AD9A-S is a nice looking board; it has a decent layout (with some of the same issues seen on most ATX boards). Still, for some reason I think I like this one better than the others I have tested. There is just something about it.

 

Now, let's see if that "something" can follow us into performance.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases