TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,141 Reviews & Articles | 39,479 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

CoolIT Systems ECO A.L.C. CPU Cooler - The CoolIT ECO A.L.C. CPU Cooler

CoolIT gives users a chance to dabble in water cooling with ease and at a low price. Let's see if it's an attractive alternative to high-end air.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 18, 2010 6:28 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: CoolIT Systems

The CoolIT ECO A.L.C. CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3189_09.jpg

 

Here we have the ECO A.L.C. in all her black glory. As you can see, the pump and CPU block are all in one piece to the left, and the radiator and fan half is on the right.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3189_10.jpg

 

Starting at the bottom and working our way up, I'm going to start off with the base. It is copper and the specifications assure us that this plate is backed with micro-channels to dissipate the heat from here. While the surface isn't polished, it is flat and makes great contact on the IHS. The ECO also comes with CoolIT's own PRO A.T.C. pre-applied.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3189_11.jpg

 

Water enters and leaves the FHE unit through these 90 degree elbows. They do swivel right and left, but as you can see they only travel so far until you run into the other elbow and tubing.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3189_12.jpg

 

Twisting them to the right, you run into the same thing. There is no need for more movement anyways, as the over 90 degrees of movement will accommodate any setup.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3189_13.jpg

 

The top half of the mounting mechanisms for both AMD and Intel couldn't be simpler. Not only is the outside, black plastic moulded to be a tool-less thumb screw, but also surpasses the height of the internal screw. So if you do plan to install with a screwdriver, accidental slippage is taken care of so you don't accidentally stab your motherboard with said screwdriver.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3189_14.jpg

 

Really simplifying the Intel mounting, since there are three sockets still being used, the retention mechanism can easily swap from LGA775, like the one at the top left. With a simple pull on the mechanism itself, the latch can be moved to LGA1156 or LGA1366 and when released, a spring inside locks it into place.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3189_16.jpg

 

I know we saw a similar image already, but I wanted to cover the tubing as well. It appears to be 1/8" ID tubing that is chemically impervious and stretched it over ΒΌ" OD fittings. Then outside the softer tubing, a harder 3/8" outer diameter plastic shell is use to protect the lines from outside damage.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases