TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,498 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H (AMD 890GX) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

GIGABYTE brings their new 890GX board to the AMD party. Will it have what it takes to hang, or will it be left in the corner watching the coats.

| Socket AM3/AM3+ in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 17, 2010 7:44 am
TweakTown Rating: 80%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

BIOS

 

The GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H uses an Award BIOS, which has a fairly clean layout. For the most part you will be spending your time in the M.I.T. (Motherboard Intelligent Tweaker) section. This area gives you all of the most common settings to improve performance.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3187_11.jpg

 

One of the first places you might want to head is to take a look at the IGP (internal graphics processor). Here is where you can push the HD 4290 embedded in the 890GX. You have different options for memory performance as well as the ability to overclock the actual GPU.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3187_12.jpg

 

Under the DRAM settings menu you can adjust the timings as well as setup ganged or unganged modes for memory performance stability. Although the timings here show manual settings, the only settings we adjusted for our review were the four major ones to match the stated timings on the Kingston DDR3 (9-9-9-24). The rest we set to auto.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3187_13.jpg

 

Other areas of interest are the integrated peripherals and advanced BIOS features menu. Interestingly enough there is another link to the IGP (which AMD calls the IGX).

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3187_14.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3187_15.jpg

 


Overclocking

 

When the 890GX launched we only had a C2 stepping version of the Phenom II X4 955. This limited our overclocking in a very serious way. We were not able to hit over 3.6GHz (227x16). The CPU simply would not do it.

 

This time things are different; we have a C3 stepping Phenom II X4 965. This new CPU allowed us to hit a fairly decent 4.08GHz on air (240x17). Over that we found that highly threaded loads (like Cinebench R11.5 and LightWave) would fail in a spectacular way. We are looking into the reasons for this as we feel we should be able to get higher levels of performance from the 890GX and this board.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3187_16.png

 

You can see the validation for our overclocking here.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3187_60.png

 

As is now a common practice, GB has their own Windows based overclocking tool; they call this Easy Tune 6. The layout is fairly well done and when we tested it out we got quite a bit of flexibility in what settings we could tinker with. One feature that I particularly like is the temperature monitor page. It allowed me to keep track of the X4 965 while I had it up at 4.08GHz.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3187_61.png

 

As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary.

 

Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases