TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,081 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Raidmax Skyline Windowed Mid-Tower Chassis - The Build and Finished Product

Chad gets a hold of a tidy looking mid-tower from Raidmax, his first opportunity to check the company out and see if they know how to impress.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 9, 2010 7:41 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%      Manufacturer: Raidmax

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3173_23.jpg

 

Like I said near the beginning, there are two screws that need to be removed from the front I/O to allow the front cover to be removed. Luckily I had a 2mm wrench to remove the hex head screws, or I would have been up a creek without a paddle. With this done you can now remove the front bay covers as needed and remove any bays cover steel pieces if you are adding more optical drives.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3173_24.jpg

 

There is a lot of room around the back of the drives and under the motherboard tray support rail. It took very little time to get a good layout for the wires and just a few extra tie straps and this is what you can end up with.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3173_25.jpg

 

Removing the stock I/O plate and replacing it with this one just requires a bit of twisting and the plate snaps right out. Then simply snap in the right one. With just the plastic tabs holding in the 9800 GTX+, it allows the card to lean quite a bit; I do suggest you install the screws as well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3173_26.jpg

 

A bit of creative wiring and the Skyline can still stay pretty tidy inside. There isn't a whole lot of extra room for much larger graphics cards either. Getting all the parts installed went pretty well with nothing too notable to mention stalling the process.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3173_27.jpg

 

Don't forget to leave a 4-pin Molex connection close by. When the door goes back on, you need to have it handy to power the 80mm, blue LED fan. The window gives an excellent view of everything inside the chassis, easy to check on things with just a quick glance.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3173_28.jpg

 

Powered up, the front of the Skyline has two bright blue LEDs to light the slit in the Aluminum, and it also floods out the bottom a bit as well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3173_29.jpg

 

The blue LED fan in the door actually makes the edge of the window panel glow like a blue halo. This fan and the front LEDs are the only included lighting; a blue fan in a PSU can do nothing but accentuate the look of the blue lit interior.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below