Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,623 Reviews & Articles | 45,069 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: MSI teases its Z170A XPOWER Gaming Titanium Edition motherboard

Raidmax Skyline Windowed Mid-Tower Chassis - The Build and Finished Product

Chad gets a hold of a tidy looking mid-tower from Raidmax, his first opportunity to check the company out and see if they know how to impress.

By: | Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 9, 2010 7:41 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: Raidmax

The Build and Finished Product

 

content/3/1/3173_23.jpg

 

Like I said near the beginning, there are two screws that need to be removed from the front I/O to allow the front cover to be removed. Luckily I had a 2mm wrench to remove the hex head screws, or I would have been up a creek without a paddle. With this done you can now remove the front bay covers as needed and remove any bays cover steel pieces if you are adding more optical drives.

 

content/3/1/3173_24.jpg

 

There is a lot of room around the back of the drives and under the motherboard tray support rail. It took very little time to get a good layout for the wires and just a few extra tie straps and this is what you can end up with.

 

content/3/1/3173_25.jpg

 

Removing the stock I/O plate and replacing it with this one just requires a bit of twisting and the plate snaps right out. Then simply snap in the right one. With just the plastic tabs holding in the 9800 GTX+, it allows the card to lean quite a bit; I do suggest you install the screws as well.

 

content/3/1/3173_26.jpg

 

A bit of creative wiring and the Skyline can still stay pretty tidy inside. There isn't a whole lot of extra room for much larger graphics cards either. Getting all the parts installed went pretty well with nothing too notable to mention stalling the process.

 

content/3/1/3173_27.jpg

 

Don't forget to leave a 4-pin Molex connection close by. When the door goes back on, you need to have it handy to power the 80mm, blue LED fan. The window gives an excellent view of everything inside the chassis, easy to check on things with just a quick glance.

 

content/3/1/3173_28.jpg

 

Powered up, the front of the Skyline has two bright blue LEDs to light the slit in the Aluminum, and it also floods out the bottom a bit as well.

 

content/3/1/3173_29.jpg

 

The blue LED fan in the door actually makes the edge of the window panel glow like a blue halo. This fan and the front LEDs are the only included lighting; a blue fan in a PSU can do nothing but accentuate the look of the blue lit interior.

 

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

 

United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

Australia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at PLE Computer's website.

Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.

 



Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down