TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,911 Reviews & Articles | 38,072 News Posts

Western Digital SiliconEdge Blue 256GB Solid State Drive - The Western Digital SiliconEdge Blue

Old school mentality meets new technology. At least the new WD SSD has a great name.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Mar 3, 2010 1:03 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: Western Digital

The Western Digital SiliconEdge Blue

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3172_04.jpg

 

Our 256GB sample SiliconEdge Blue arrived in brown box fashion, but I am confident WD will put together a great package for the retail units. Here we see the front of the drive. All of the information is listed on the front label. It is kind of nice to see the Product Of the USA statement on the drive; something we do not see very often.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3172_05.jpg

 

I really like the finish of the drive. Even though it is in the Blue Series, it could easily pass as an industrial product. The metal case was very sturdy and offers a lot of protection. The bottom mounting holes are present so you will not have a problem mounting the SiliconEdge in most of the notebooks on the market.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3172_06.jpg

 

On the side we also found the mounting holes where they should be.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3172_07.jpg

 

The SATA power and data connections were also where they should be, making the Blue ready for just about any installation.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3172_08.jpg

 

On the front side of the PCB we get a good look at the controller, DDR II Buffer and half of the flash. The Samsung flash is double stacked and we can see that there are a lot more little components on the board than a typical Indilinx Barefoot drive.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3172_09.jpg

 

Here we see the Western Digital labeled controller and the massive 512MB buffer DRAM.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3172_10.jpg

 

Samsung has been known to make very high quality flash memory. Western Digital didn't do any dumpster diving here.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3172_11.jpg

 

On the back we see the rest of the flash. In a double stacked configuration that means there are 32 flash chips on the board for the 256GB model. Certainly these can't be cheap to build.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases