Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,677 Reviews & Articles | 45,626 News Posts

Western Digital SiliconEdge Blue 256GB Solid State Drive - The Western Digital SiliconEdge Blue


By: | SSDs in Storage | Posted: Mar 3, 2010 1:03 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Western Digital

The Western Digital SiliconEdge Blue

 

content/3/1/3172_04.jpg

 

Our 256GB sample SiliconEdge Blue arrived in brown box fashion, but I am confident WD will put together a great package for the retail units. Here we see the front of the drive. All of the information is listed on the front label. It is kind of nice to see the Product Of the USA statement on the drive; something we do not see very often.

 

content/3/1/3172_05.jpg

 

I really like the finish of the drive. Even though it is in the Blue Series, it could easily pass as an industrial product. The metal case was very sturdy and offers a lot of protection. The bottom mounting holes are present so you will not have a problem mounting the SiliconEdge in most of the notebooks on the market.

 

content/3/1/3172_06.jpg

 

On the side we also found the mounting holes where they should be.

 

content/3/1/3172_07.jpg

 

The SATA power and data connections were also where they should be, making the Blue ready for just about any installation.

 

content/3/1/3172_08.jpg

 

On the front side of the PCB we get a good look at the controller, DDR II Buffer and half of the flash. The Samsung flash is double stacked and we can see that there are a lot more little components on the board than a typical Indilinx Barefoot drive.

 

content/3/1/3172_09.jpg

 

Here we see the Western Digital labeled controller and the massive 512MB buffer DRAM.

 

content/3/1/3172_10.jpg

 

Samsung has been known to make very high quality flash memory. Western Digital didn't do any dumpster diving here.

 

content/3/1/3172_11.jpg

 

On the back we see the rest of the flash. In a double stacked configuration that means there are 32 flash chips on the board for the 256GB model. Certainly these can't be cheap to build.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Australia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at PLE Computer's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.



    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down