TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,098 Reviews & Articles | 39,131 News Posts

Thermaltake Element V Full Tower Chassis - Inside The Thermaltake Element V Full Tower Case

Thermaltake has us looking at the Element V today. Let's see if that "V" stands for Victory!

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 4, 2010 2:42 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Thermaltake

Inside The Thermaltake Element V Full Tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_12.jpg

 

Thermaltake makes removing this panel a breeze, as long as it is unlocked of course. Lift the two "finger pull" tabs and the door opens like a car door. What I really liked was the innovative way that the fan gets connected in this panel. There are three pins on this side that strike on a plate mounted on the frame of the chassis, not to mention this powers a four color LED, 230mm fan that adds quite a bit of flow and circulation to the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_13.jpg

 

With the panel out of the way, we are left looking inside a roomy interior. The motherboard tray accommodates mATX, ATX and eATX motherboards and offers both a large CPU cooler access hole and a few wire management holes. The front of the chassis is all bays and has a support bar pop riveted to it and again to the rear of the chassis. As far as I can tell, it is solely there for support, and maybe a place to hide wires, but with some creativity I could see multiple SSD's lined up there, too.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_14.jpg

 

The drive bays are set up with five 5.25" bays up top and two hard drive cages capable of housing three drives each. Looking closely at the floor, you can see a bit of the framing and the raised mounting bumps in the floor for an SSD under the bottom drive cage. On this side all of the bays are tool-less, but require screws on the flip side if you require more secure mounting. The left side of these bays is another nice little addition. They left a few wiring holes to allow you to pass them here instead of making it all run out into the main motherboard area.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_15.jpg

 

While there are two places for a 200mm fan to be placed up top, Thermaltake only ships the chassis with one of its multi-colored LED fans. This may lead to a bit of some tower coolers "breathing room" but the fan can always be moved forward. While we are in closer, you can see the tray is well laid out and easy to make sure you have all the appropriate risers in place.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_16.jpg

 

The PSU, when installed in the chassis, is well ventilated with the honeycomb pattern punched out of the floor. The support rail can be unscrewed and moved to snugly support any power supply. Also since I'm here, in the rail of the chassis is the mating plate for the doors fan. When the door is fully on and screwed into position, these pins line right up.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_17.jpg

 

Inside the rear of the Element V, starting up top, there is the rear 120mm exhaust fan and rear I/O shield. The shield can be removed with two screws, and the fan is a bit easier, as it is mounted to a plate with quick release tabs you saw on the outside. Aside from where the seven ventilated expansion slots are, the majority of the extra space is ventilated. This includes the area for dual 50mm fans just to the slots left.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_18.jpg

 

When I first opened the rear panel all the wiring was nicely tied up and tucked away in the space next to the drive bays. I loosened them to give you a good idea of just how much cabling is actually there. With this much wire to play with from the front I/O, wire management options are endless.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_19.jpg

 

With a gentle tug at the bottom, the full front panel comes off. This needs to be out of the way for both the HDD and optical drive installation. That leads me to this; I really like the way Thermaltake doesn't use any wires in the removable front. It just makes things that much easier for the build. The cages have a 120mm fan to blow air through them, however one is LED and controllable, the other is not LED and will run on 12V from a 4-pin Molex connection. To keep dust to a minimum, all of the slot covers and the two larger bottom sections have a material screening, which I assume is washable.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3166_20.jpg

 

Never mind the fact that I jumped ahead a bit before I remembered to get this pose, but the bottom of the chassis has large hard plastic feet with smaller rubber pads to keep from scratching floors and desktops. The top of the chassis is almost all vent, should be no issue getting heat out of inside the Element V.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases