TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,676 Reviews & Articles | 36,072 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

WildCharge Wireless Charging Pad and iPhone 3G Adapter Case - The Pad and Adapter Case

Wireless charging is the wave of the future; we take a look at WildCharge and their conductive charging system to see how well it works.

| Phones in Mobile Devices | Posted: Mar 2, 2010 3:23 pm
TweakTown Rating: 83%      Manufacturer: WildCharge

The Charging Pad

 

The pad is a flat rectangular device that has several strips of metal running across it. On the left side there is a raised "hump" that contains all of the active circuitry and also the port for the plug.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3162_02.jpg

 

Each of the 12 metal strips is a linear contact point. Individually they are inert and have no current running through them, but if you bridge two of them then you create a circuit that provides power. The size pad that we have in the lab is capable of charging up to five devices (cell phones and other small items).

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3162_03.jpg

 

But WildCharge has not just allowed for a simple conductive pad. They have designed the Wildcharger pad to only work with a proper adapter. This means that if you drop a regular piece of conductive metal on the pad it will not create a circuit and the device will remain inert.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3162_04.jpg

 

The Adapter

 

The adapter for the iPhone that we received looks a little cheap at first glance. In reality it is little more than a rubber shell with some components stuck in some of the molded cavities. As you can see in the image below, the hardware is only covered by stickers placed in the interior of the case.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3162_05.jpg

 

Thankfully these stickers are on very good; I was not able to pick them out of the interior even after several minutes of trying. I am not saying they will never come out, but they should not come out during normal usage.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3162_06.jpg

 

On the back we see four small spherical contact points. These are placed in a "Y" array to ensure good contact with the Wildcharger pad no matter what angle you drop the device at.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3162_07.jpg

 

At the bottom is a small extension a lot like a chin. This houses the 30-pin connector for the iPhone. This is (as you have probably guessed) connected to the four conductors in the back of the case. But there is a down side to this case. As you have probably noticed, there is no way to connect the iPhone inside the case to a computer for syncing. This is a huge short coming of this adapter.

 

WildCharge should have allowed some method to sync the iPhone with iTunes without the need to remove the case. As they did not, this case is not very attractive to the average iPhone user. It even takes away from the fact that it is one of the very few cases that allows for use on older iPhones like the 1st gen ones.

 

The appearance is also a little dull; when I showed it around to different people they asked if it came in other colors and styles. When I told them this was it, the majority said they would not want to use it all the time, but might use it to charge overnight.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3162_08.jpg

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Mobile Devices content at our Mobile Devices reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below