TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,433 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

ASUS P7P55D-E Pro (P55 Express) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

We take a look at the USB 3.0/SATA 3.0 enabled P7P55D-E Pro; the baby-bother to the P7P55D-E Deluxe and Premium. Talk about sibling rivalry.

| Socket LGA 1156 in Motherboards | Posted: Feb 24, 2010 5:37 am
TweakTown Rating: 83%Manufacturer: ASUS

BIOS

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3151_14.jpg

 

The P7P55D-E Pro uses ASUS' customized version of the AMI BIOS. But as with almost every motherboard ASUS makes, you will spend 90% of your time in the AI-Tweaker section.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3151_15.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3151_16.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3151_17.jpg

 

For some this area will have way too many settings to play with. Thankfully, ASUS has included some quick and easy overclocking features that even a beginner can use.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3151_21.jpg

 

The first is the CPU level up. This is a simple BIOS adjustment that allows you to "level-up" your CPU to act as a faster CPU. As you can see, the BIOS gave us the option to push ours to act like an i7 860, 870 and even run at 3.2GHz with a simple keystroke. The next is the built in BIOS auto tuning. This is much like the Auto Tuning that is done by the software driven TurboV EVO, but simply at the BIOS level without the need to boot into Windows.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3151_18.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3151_19.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3151_20.jpg

 

The rest of the BIOS is clean and easy to navigate once you get the hang of it (which does not take long).

 


Overclocking

 

As more and more companies throw in software to allow for easy overclocking, we are changing to ensure that we can cover how this works in practice. As such we are now including the results of any "auto" overclocking software into our overclocking section. We will still only show you the testing results from our maximum stable OC, but you can get a good idea of what you will get from these new offerings.

 

For ASUS the software is called TurboV EVO. This is a Windows based software that is able to directly alter settings in the BIOS to affect an overclock in real-time. We have covered this software before in our review of the ASUS P7H57D-V Evo. Using the same fast auto tuning we were able to push our Core i5 750 to 3.715GHz (195x19). However, once we started tinkering we improved that clock to a stable maximum of 4.213GHz (201x21).

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3151_22.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3151_23.png

 

You can see the validation for the TurboV EVO software here. Our manual overclock can be found here.

 


As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary.

 

Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases