TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,135 Reviews & Articles | 39,419 News Posts

Kingston SSDNow V+ Series SNVP325-S2B 512GB Gen 2 Solid State Drive - The Kingston SSDNow V+ Series 512GB SSD Bundle

Continuing our look at next generation SSDs, today Chris shows us the new second generation V+ with a massive 512GB storage capacity.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Feb 19, 2010 1:41 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Kingston Technology

The Kingston SSDNow V+ Series 512GB SSD Bundle

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3147_07.jpg

 

We will start out with the extensive bundle that Kingston supplies with their kit version. Here we see the included drive enclosure with the USB cable, SATA power and data cable as well as the disk with the manual and information. Also included are two rails that will allow you to install the SSDNow V+ in a standard 3.5" hard drive bay.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3147_08.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the drive. I noticed that it states Assembled in Japan. That leads me to think Toshiba had quite a bit of influence on the V+.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3147_09.jpg

 

There is not a lot going on with the back of the drive since all of the information is on the top label.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3147_10.jpg

 

On the side we see that the drive has all of the mounting locations where they should be, so you will not have a problem mounting the drive in your notebook or desktop.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3147_11.jpg

 

The power and data connectors are also where they should be; no problems here.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3147_12.jpg

 

With the drive apart we found Toshiba parts all over the place. The only non Toshiba chip we found was the Micron cache.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3147_13.jpg

 

Being a 512GB drive, we expected to find flash on both sides of the PCB and here it is. There are 16 total flash chips that are BGA and single stacked.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3147_14.jpg

 

The drive case is lined with thermal transfer material. To my knowledge this is the first time an SSD has come this way, at least the first time I have received one. This will allow heat to move more efficiently from the chips to the drive case.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases