Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,675 Reviews & Articles | 45,604 News Posts

Kingston SSDNow V+ Series SNVP325-S2B 512GB Gen 2 Solid State Drive - The Kingston SSDNow V+ Series 512GB SSD Bundle


By: | SSDs in Storage | Posted: Feb 19, 2010 1:41 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Kingston Technology

The Kingston SSDNow V+ Series 512GB SSD Bundle

 

content/3/1/3147_07.jpg

 

We will start out with the extensive bundle that Kingston supplies with their kit version. Here we see the included drive enclosure with the USB cable, SATA power and data cable as well as the disk with the manual and information. Also included are two rails that will allow you to install the SSDNow V+ in a standard 3.5" hard drive bay.

 

content/3/1/3147_08.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the drive. I noticed that it states Assembled in Japan. That leads me to think Toshiba had quite a bit of influence on the V+.

 

content/3/1/3147_09.jpg

 

There is not a lot going on with the back of the drive since all of the information is on the top label.

 

content/3/1/3147_10.jpg

 

On the side we see that the drive has all of the mounting locations where they should be, so you will not have a problem mounting the drive in your notebook or desktop.

 

content/3/1/3147_11.jpg

 

The power and data connectors are also where they should be; no problems here.

 

content/3/1/3147_12.jpg

 

With the drive apart we found Toshiba parts all over the place. The only non Toshiba chip we found was the Micron cache.

 

content/3/1/3147_13.jpg

 

Being a 512GB drive, we expected to find flash on both sides of the PCB and here it is. There are 16 total flash chips that are BGA and single stacked.

 

content/3/1/3147_14.jpg

 

The drive case is lined with thermal transfer material. To my knowledge this is the first time an SSD has come this way, at least the first time I have received one. This will allow heat to move more efficiently from the chips to the drive case.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Australia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at PLE Computer's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.



    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down