TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,092 Reviews & Articles | 39,114 News Posts

MSI H55M-ED55 (H55 Express) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

MSI shows us its OC Genie on a H55 Express board; the H55M-ED55. Can this help to push this board out of the entry level? Let's find out.

| Socket LGA 1156 in Motherboards | Posted: Feb 16, 2010 2:40 pm
TweakTown Rating: 78%Manufacturer: MSI

BIOS

 

MSI uses an AMI BIOS for the H55M-ED55. As such, it follows that layout and has the typical pages. For the MSI H55M-ED55 there are a few notable exceptions to the otherwise very familiar AMI BIOS. These are the Cell Menu, M-Flash, Overclocking Profile and Green Power.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3139_12.jpg

 

We are starting off with the Cell Menu simply because this is where you will spend most of your time while overclocking or tweaking the system. The options here are pretty straight forward, but you do have to dive into some sub-menus to find all of the settings.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3139_13.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3139_14.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3139_15.jpg

 

If you are thinking about pushing the HD GMA GPU that is on your Clarkdale, you will have to head over to Advanced Features. Here you can find the adjustments for GPU clock speed, RAM and DVMT. You will have to head back to the Cell Menu to bump up the IGP voltage, though.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3139_16.jpg

 

The Green Power menu contains only two settings, but these are very important if you are looking to build a power friendly system.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3139_17.jpg

 

The M-Flash menu allows you to flash your board as well as backup your BIOS to your HDD or to an external drive (like a USB Flash Drive).

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3139_18.jpg

 


Overclocking

 

A "new" feature that is showing up at all levels of motherboards is the ability to overclock with a single button or a simple tool. On the MSI H55M-ED55 it is called OC Genie and can be run from inside the OS or by simply pressing the OC Genie button on the motherboard. Using the OC Genie button we were able to get an overclock of 3.9GHz (178x22). With manual controls we hit a high of 4.0GHz (156x16). We left Turbo and Hyper-Threading on for our overclocking testing even though the OC Genie went for the higher BClK by adjusting the multiplier down.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3139_20.png

 

You can see the validation for the i5 661 using the OC Genie here and the Manual OC here.

 


As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary.

 

Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases