TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,670 Reviews & Articles | 36,048 News Posts

Thermaltake Element T Mid Tower Chassis - The Build and Finished Product

With a slogan like "Created for eSports"; let's see what the Element T from Thermaltake offers the gamer in you.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 10, 2010 11:51 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Thermaltake

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3130_21.jpg

 

Once the front bezel was unsnapped, yes, six little snap-locks are all that keeps you from opening this cover, that and a gentle tug. The front I/O remains on the chassis and keeps wiring off the cover. Now I just need to fill it up and see what I come up with.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3130_22.png

 

I used a couple of ISGC Fan 12's to add a bit of flow to the front of my case. I just simply used the provided screws that easily go into pre-threaded holes. Don't worry about the fans blocking access, from what I can tell the hard drives only slide in from the inside. The open mesh of the bezel and its dust covering mesh should keep cleaning the fans relatively easy.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3130_23.jpg

 

Here she is once again, all closed up and ready for her completed photo shoot.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3130_24.jpg

 

The build itself was a breeze. Everything lines up good, except for the tool-less hard drive rack, and this is why I wish they would have incorporated a way to use it in another slot. I installed my GPU in the lower slot here, as the hard drive keeps it from both going in that position. That aside, the case is roomy enough for this card and was still close enough in proximity to the PSU for my short cabling to get the job done.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3130_25.jpg

 

As you can see, the rear I/O plate has been changed to accommodate my DFI. Once you see the I/O in place it is easy to see how the cable tending clamp can come into play holding wires down on your desktop, or even keeping you from accidentally pulling them out in a fit of rage throwing your mouse after getting PWN'd in your favorite FPS.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3130_26.jpg

 

As I was saying, the spot near the front of the case can hold a ton of wiring. If you have ever seen a Zumax 950W PSU online, you will know the rats nest of wiring I have to try and hide. The Element T took it all in stride and actually had room for more. I do however wish there was a way to better route the 8-pin. Even with an extension, I was barely able to get it there.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3130_27.jpg

 

If you are into flashy LED's then this is the angle for you to see the Element T. With the lack of supplied fans, if you want a bunch of red LED's you are going to need to make sure and buy them separately. As the chassis is sent, only the power switch and the LED's of the 200mm fan let you know visually that the chassis is even on.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below