TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,158 Reviews & Articles | 39,567 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

XClio Blackhawk Full Tower Chassis - Inside The XClio Blackhawk Full Tower Case

XClio takes features from their high end "Super Towers" and trickles it down the production line into their full tower line-up with the Blackhawk.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 3, 2010 1:22 pm
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: XClio

Inside The XClio Blackhawk Full Tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3119_12.jpg

 

Taking out the four thumb screws allows the panels to open. I liked how they had the doors set up in this chassis. Having them hinged in the front not only makes it easier to use, but a ton easier to get the cables behind the rear panel.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3119_13.jpg

 

Opening the door panel with the fan in it, I was pleased to see the fan wasn't connected for shipping; this way I didn't have to search through the case with limited access to try to unplug it. You will, however, find its mate in the wiring from the front I/O. This seven blade, five LED, 250mm fan offers a good supply of air to the chassis, but may not be as effective if you use a tower style cooler, as it will block most of this fans flow.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3119_14.jpg

 

With the door out of the way, we can see the interior and what it has to offer. What pops out to me is the motherboard tray. Not only does it have some wire managing holes, but the bottom third is gone. This makes wiring a bit easier, as you can route them anywhere you want to.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3119_15.jpg

 

The front I/O wiring is wrapped in a spiral wrap to keep things tidy. Depending on your layout, you may need to trim this, or remove it entirely to clean things up inside the chassis. You will find two USB 2.0, HD and AC97 audio and an e-SATA connection. Also bound in the group are the power, reset, power LED and HDD activity LED connections. This leaves us with the last of the "plugs"; to the far left is the mating end for the door fan, and buried under the others is a 4-pin Molex connection to power the control panel.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3119_16.jpg

 

In the front is where some of the options begin. There are three 5.25" bays as it sits here, and eight 3.5" bays. Removing the middle assembly of drives allows for the use of six 5.25" bays and XClio has provided covers for the front as well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3119_17.jpg

 

Looking into the rear, we see thumb screws on the expansion slots. I would have liked a tool-less solution, but these are very secure in mounting and there is something to be said for a solid design. The water cooling holes are a different story. I'm not too sure who still uses tubing that would actually run through those holes. I would have preferred if you are going to make the effort, go with holes that will allow for ¾" diameter tubing. Most of the water coolers are using 3/8"-1/2" I.D. tubing, and these holes just aren't up to that sort of task.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3119_18.jpg

 

Looking up through the top of the Blackhawk, XClio provided a good up flow of air by strapping in two 120mm fans here to persuade convection to move a little faster. The top plastic is removable, but there is little room for much more than the wiring in there.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases