TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,920 Reviews & Articles | 38,141 News Posts

Crucial RealSSD C300 256GB SATA 6Gbps Solid State Disk - The Crucial RealSSD C300

The next generation is really the now generation. In days from now Crucial will launch their C300 SSD with SATA 6G. We got ours today.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Feb 3, 2010 7:21 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: Crucial

The Crucial RealSSD C300

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3118_07.jpg

 

The Crucial RealSSD C300 has been pictured several times since CES. Here you get to see another shot of the front.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3118_08.jpg

 

The back of the drive holds all of the product information. The serial number leads us to believe that there are at least 630 other C300s ready to ship out to customers when the drives go on sale any day now. The firmware on our drive states 0001; at CES the drive listed firmware 0005 but it is important to remember that the CES drive was a prototype.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3118_09.jpg

 

At the side we see that the C300 has all of the mounting locations where they should be.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3118_10.jpg

 

Standard SATA power and data connectors are also where they should be, so you will have no problem installing the C300 in your notebook or desktop with the appropriate adapter.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3118_11.jpg

 

The RealSSD C300 uses the Marvell controller and Micron BGA flash.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3118_12.jpg

 

The first thing we noticed right from the start is that the drive doesn't use double stacked flash even though our sample was the largest offered; 256GB.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3118_13.jpg

 

Here we get a good look at the Marvell controller.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3118_14.jpg

 

We found flash on the back of the drive as well. At the top left side we also found the DRAM cache.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases