TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,159 Reviews & Articles | 39,584 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

Powermat Wireless Charging Portable Mat and iPhone 3G (S) Receiver Case - The Box and What's Inside

Often the old ways are the best. We see this as Powermat take a 100 year old idea and use it to give us something new; wireless charging.

| Phones in Mobile Devices | Posted: Jan 28, 2010 4:56 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Powermat

Powermat Portable Mat

 

The boxes that the Powermat portable mat and the iPhone receiver case come in are interesting; they are setup in a way that even viewing them on the shelf will grab your eye.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3110_02.jpg

 

There is a large image of the mat with two commonly used devices apparently charging. Powermat has also made sure that anyone picking this up will know that they will be able to use it right out of the box.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3110_03.jpg

 

Opening up the front flap, you get a view of the actual product with more images of typical devices charging. Powermat has also placed words like "simple", "fast" and "clean" in large green letters. These have an impressive impact on a potential buyer.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3110_04.jpg

 

The back is only more of the same, but does complete the whole. I have to say that this is one of the best designed product packages I have seen. When I looked at this in a local Target, I saw many people pointing to the images as confirmation of how well this product met their needs without knowing anything about it. Well done to the Powermat marketing team.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3110_05.jpg

 

Inside you will find everything you will need to begin using your new Powermat portable mat to charge a single device. Powermat has included a three place charging mat, power adapter, a powercube and a handy case to carry it around in.

 

iPhone Receiver

 

As we mentioned above, you can buy just the Portable Mat and be ready to charge your devices. However, as the Powermat is meant to charge more than one device, you will want to pick up a receiver case for your own personal device. For me this is a receiver case for the iPhone 3G S.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3110_06.jpg

 

Again we see that the marketing team from Powermat have done their job well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3110_07.jpg

 

As with the Portable Mat box, we see another flap that allows you a view of the product inside.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3110_08.jpg

 

Unlike the larger Portable Mat box, the receiver case box has some very useful information on the back. Here you can see exactly how you use the receiver case on your iPhone.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3110_09.jpg

 

The contents of the box include not only the receiver case, but also a USB cable that allows you to charge the device in the conventional way and also to sync the iPhone with your PC or MAC without the need to remove the case.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Mobile Devices content at our Mobile Devices reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases