TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,252 Reviews & Articles | 40,817 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

GIGABYTE GA-H57M-USB3 (H57 Express) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

GIGABYTE gives Intel's 32nm Clarkdale some bells and whistles with USB 3.0 support on its GA-H57M-USB3.

| Socket LGA 1156 in Motherboards | Posted: Jan 21, 2010 7:44 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

BIOS

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3104_10.jpg

 

GIGABYTE uses an Award BIOS for the GA-H57M-USB3. As such, it follows the same layout most are familiar with.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3104_11.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3104_12.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3104_13.jpg

 

For the enthusiast or tweaker the most important place in the BIOS is the M.I.T (MB Intelligent Tweaker). Here you can find the settings to overclock your CPU and GPU (on the Clarkdale). It also allows you to adjust the settings for your RAM and voltage.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3104_14.jpg

 

Taking a look elsewhere in the BIOS shows us an interesting feature called XHD or eXtreme Hard Disk. This is not what you would think, though. It does not mean SATA 3.0, it means RAID and then it means RAID 0. GIGABYTE lists this as a way to boost your HDD performance but does require adding another HDD.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3104_15.jpg

 


Overclocking

 

Overclocking the GA-H57-USB3 was fairly easy, although I did not like having to jump around the BIOS to find all the settings. It made for keeping track of what was and was not changed a pain. Still, for our stable overclock on the GA-H57-USB3 I was able to hit a very decent 163x26 or 4238MHz. We left Turbo and Hyper-Threading on for our overclocking testing which makes this a pretty good jump when you think about it.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3104_16.png

 

You can see the validation for the i5 661 with the GMA HD here.

 

As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary. Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases