TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,687 Reviews & Articles | 36,218 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Noctua NH-C12P SE14 CPU Cooler - The Noctua NH-C12P SE14 CPU Cooler

Noctua revises a workhorse from the CPU cooling fleet with one of their new NF-P14 fans, and delivers TweakTown's labs the NH-C12P SE14 for testing.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 15, 2010 5:45 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: Noctua

The Noctua NH-C12P SE14 CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3099_08.jpg

 

The NH-C12P SE14 is a six heat pipe cooler that is folded over its self to blow air down toward the motherboard. With all these pipes and thick aluminium fins, this design not only keeps the CPU cool, but offers a ton of airflow to the surrounding motherboard components. Speaking of which, look at the clearance offered here, there is plenty of room to clear a Northbridge or Mosfet cooler system.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3099_09.jpg

 

Noctua tried to keep things neat and tidy with this cooler, as you can see they even take the effort to put an extra bend or two in the pipes keeping them close and hopefully compatibility issue free. The heat then runs into a short set of ten fins before it hits the "narrow", fifteen finned, centre section of fins. What's left is a twenty fin, short section that will remove any excess heat that hasn't already been taken care of.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3099_10.jpg

 

All six of the heat pipes are exactly the same length give no advantage or disadvantage to the heat transfer of each of the pipes. They are splayed in a radial pattern with the fins slid over, then soldered into place. Fin spacing is achieved by using the six, square, punched holes that use the tabs to space at the top, and folded edged to space the sides.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3099_11.jpg

 

When I got to this side I wanted a different perspective. The outer pipe on both sides is exposed in the middle, and the fins are short to help ease installation as you will see.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3099_12.jpg

 

Looking into the NH-C12P from the top you can get a better idea of the "H" shape of the fin arrangement. This is made to utilize the majority of the area available, and still allow a way to get a screwdriver to the two mounting screws. These gaps act in another beneficial way as well, they act as channels to deliver a flood of air to the surrounding components on the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3099_13.jpg

 

I can't go this far and leave out the scalloped fin design. The "wavy" design works twofold as well. Not only does it space the fan from the bulk of the aluminium of the fins, they add disturbance to the airflow, maximizing the ability of the low noise, slower speed of the NF-P14. The outer edges have a flat wide groove; they end up having anti-vibration pads installed in them later.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3099_14.jpg

 

Something else I really like about the way Noctua ships their coolers, the little plastic tray that surrounds the base. All the time and effort they put into making a quality product, they want to protect the investment all the way to your door.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3099_15.jpg

 

The milling on the base is just like I found on all my pervious submissions from Noctua and why they protect it so well. A fine radial grooving is all that is left behind. Some say a mirror polish is the way to go, but I find this is the finish that seems to perform great out of the box, and is on many of the superior coolers.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3099_16.jpg

 

If you haven't seen it by now, this is Noctua's new NF-P14 with a 3-pin power connection. This nine bladed fan uses the traditional Noctua grooves, and boasts just less than 65 CFM and does so at under 20dBA. The nice plus about the NF-P14 is that it utilizes 120mm mounting holes so it can be swapped out for almost any 120mm fan for superior silent cooling.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3099_17.jpg

 

With the addition of the NF-P14 to the NH-C12P it does look a bit odd at first with the 140mm fan overhanging the edges a fair bit. This fan offers more CFM than its 120mm version, so it should provide ample airflow to the cooler as well as in the immediate area of the cooler when it's installed.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3099_18.jpg

 

If your case has a window, this is how you are going to see the NH-C12P SE14 most of the time. As you can tell, there isn't really a place for heat to hide in the body of the cooler; the 140mm fan has it all covered.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below