Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,681 Reviews & Articles | 45,667 News Posts

Tuniq Tower 120 Extreme CPU Cooler - The Tuniq Tower 120 Extreme CPU Cooler


By: | CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 12, 2010 4:57 am
TweakTown Rating: 83%Manufacturer: Tuniq

The Tuniq Tower 120 Extreme CPU Cooler

 

content/3/0/3096_08.jpg

 

The 120 Extreme comes as a five heat pipe, black nickel plated beast that utilizes direct touch technology to bring on the heat. It then goes into a large array of 42 fins that surround the 120mm fan. We are currently looking at the inbound side for the airflow.

 

content/3/0/3096_09.jpg

 

From the side you can see the stagger of the fins and how it affects the looks. Most coolers that have a scalloped fin design use it to space the fan and disturb airflow for better efficiency. With a centre mounted fan I know the closed sides will improve airflow, but at this point I am on the fence as to if the fins edges improve performance for this specific cooler, or if it is just a sexy looking design.

 

content/3/0/3096_10.jpg

 

The top of the 120 Extreme has a metal plate screwed into the first ten fins or so. This plate holds the fan in place during operation, and adds a clean and artistic look to the typical flat fin with pipe tips sticking out of them. Tuniq uses this space to place their name stamped into the top piece.

 

content/3/0/3096_11.jpg

 

I found this to be an attractive angle, and you will be able to see a similar angle when it is installed on your motherboard.

 

content/3/0/3096_12.jpg

 

The bottom of the cooler has a plate already installed to the base. This plate accepts all Intel sockets since LGA775 (LGA1156 mounting requires a new back plate) and AMD's 939 as it sits. This plate surrounds the business end of alternating 8mm and 6mm heat pipes.

 

content/3/0/3096_13.jpg

 

The pipes are placed into the base and it is milled as one piece. Gaps between the two vary depending on which pipe you are looking at. Just be sure when you install the cooler to fill these gaps a bit prior to placing the cooler on the CPU. The rest of the surface I did find to be level and milled pretty fine, even though slight milling marks are still visible.

 

content/3/0/3096_14.jpg

 

I mentioned the top plate was removable, as it allows for access to the fan contained inside. Just four little screws to remove and the fan can slide out the top for cleaning.

 

content/3/0/3096_15.jpg

 

When I removed the fan from the center of the fin assembly, the top fin came off with the fan. The majority of the fins are press fit to the heat pipes, but due to the shorter termination at the top, there is nothing for this fin to grab onto. Aside from that, the fan does slide out pretty easy, just be careful of the wire, as it likes to grab onto things at the bottom of the cooler.

 

content/3/0/3096_16.jpg

 

Since it was all out in the open, I thought it was an opportune time to show the clear plastic, blue LED fan that gets screwed into the fan holder. Not only does the fan produce blue light to flood the surrounding area, the fans clear nature makes the body of the fan almost glow when power is added. As you can see, the fan uses a 3-pin connection that can either go directly to your motherboard or to the included fan controller.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Australia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at PLE Computer's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.



    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down