TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,199 Reviews & Articles | 40,011 News Posts

Tuniq Tower 120 Extreme CPU Cooler - The Tuniq Tower 120 Extreme CPU Cooler

The Tower 120 Extreme was released in September, but due to some shipping mishaps we just received our sample. What have we have been missing out on?

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 12, 2010 4:57 am
TweakTown Rating: 83%Manufacturer: Tuniq

The Tuniq Tower 120 Extreme CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3096_08.jpg

 

The 120 Extreme comes as a five heat pipe, black nickel plated beast that utilizes direct touch technology to bring on the heat. It then goes into a large array of 42 fins that surround the 120mm fan. We are currently looking at the inbound side for the airflow.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3096_09.jpg

 

From the side you can see the stagger of the fins and how it affects the looks. Most coolers that have a scalloped fin design use it to space the fan and disturb airflow for better efficiency. With a centre mounted fan I know the closed sides will improve airflow, but at this point I am on the fence as to if the fins edges improve performance for this specific cooler, or if it is just a sexy looking design.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3096_10.jpg

 

The top of the 120 Extreme has a metal plate screwed into the first ten fins or so. This plate holds the fan in place during operation, and adds a clean and artistic look to the typical flat fin with pipe tips sticking out of them. Tuniq uses this space to place their name stamped into the top piece.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3096_11.jpg

 

I found this to be an attractive angle, and you will be able to see a similar angle when it is installed on your motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3096_12.jpg

 

The bottom of the cooler has a plate already installed to the base. This plate accepts all Intel sockets since LGA775 (LGA1156 mounting requires a new back plate) and AMD's 939 as it sits. This plate surrounds the business end of alternating 8mm and 6mm heat pipes.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3096_13.jpg

 

The pipes are placed into the base and it is milled as one piece. Gaps between the two vary depending on which pipe you are looking at. Just be sure when you install the cooler to fill these gaps a bit prior to placing the cooler on the CPU. The rest of the surface I did find to be level and milled pretty fine, even though slight milling marks are still visible.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3096_14.jpg

 

I mentioned the top plate was removable, as it allows for access to the fan contained inside. Just four little screws to remove and the fan can slide out the top for cleaning.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3096_15.jpg

 

When I removed the fan from the center of the fin assembly, the top fin came off with the fan. The majority of the fins are press fit to the heat pipes, but due to the shorter termination at the top, there is nothing for this fin to grab onto. Aside from that, the fan does slide out pretty easy, just be careful of the wire, as it likes to grab onto things at the bottom of the cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3096_16.jpg

 

Since it was all out in the open, I thought it was an opportune time to show the clear plastic, blue LED fan that gets screwed into the fan holder. Not only does the fan produce blue light to flood the surrounding area, the fans clear nature makes the body of the fan almost glow when power is added. As you can see, the fan uses a 3-pin connection that can either go directly to your motherboard or to the included fan controller.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases