TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,201 Reviews & Articles | 40,021 News Posts

SilverStone Raven RV02-BW Case - Inside The SilverStone Raven SST-RV02-BW Case

We've looked at the original twist on chassis' with the RV01. This time we get to look at the RV02 chassis and see what is different this time round.

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 11, 2010 3:35 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: SilverStone

Inside The SilverStone Raven SST-RV02-BW Case

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_13.jpg

 

To get things underway to look at the interior, I looked at the manual to make sure there were no hidden locks, and found there weren't, so off with the top. A gentle lifting at the rear of the chassis will allow the snaps to release the top plastic, so I can get to the thumb screws.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_14.jpg

 

Removing the sides sheds a terrific view on how the interior is laid out. Tool-less optical drives and a three bay hard drive rack are on the left of the motherboard tray that is rotated 90 degrees to the right. With the three 180mm fans at the bottom blowing at the top makes for a complete flow of air to the top of the chassis. At the right side, to the top is where the PSU gets mounted in the RV02.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_15.jpg

 

Inside of the rear of the RV02 there is the vented area for the PSU to pull ambient air in to keep the PSU cool when powering more power hungry components. The tray is laid out well for wire management with holes everywhere you would need then to allow for a clean installation.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_16.jpg

 

The front is where there are the five, tool-less, optical drive bays on the top half, and on the bottom is a specially suspended system for housing the 3.5" hard drives. Oh, and due to the airflow layout of this chassis, the hard drives install vertically inside the three drive tray. At the top you can see the eight expansion slots and vented covers. This should allow for Tri-SLI or Crossfire setups, to allow all the dual slot cards to vent out of the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_17.jpg

 

With the top piece of plastic removed I figured I needed a shot of this angle. You and see farthest away first, the PSU mounting hole. Then the rear I/O panel hole next to the 120mm exhaust fan. Then of course the eight slots we just saw from underneath, leaving the extra bit of area vented to allow convection to work its magic all the way across the top of the chassis

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_18.jpg

 

When you get a little closer to the rear exhaust fan, you may notice three, two position switches. These, when hooked up correctly, are to enable multi zone control of both airflow and noise levels with the flick of a switch.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_19.jpg

 

Looking behind the tray, you can see there is a slight attempt to keep the fan wiring in place already done, but I have better plans for it later. As I said the holes are in all the right places, and should allow me to hide the majority of my PSU's wires and power the components.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_20.jpg

 

The floor of the chassis houses the three 180mm fans, and with that much intake of air, dust is soon to follow. Under each fan is a well ventilated area that houses dust filters, one for each fan. The big rubber footed legs on the extreme corners makes this a very stable chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_21.jpg

 

A much better view of the inside of the top of the chassis, as you can see SilverStone ventilated the top of the chassis so much it doesn't appear that there is much holding it together. Let me tell you, this case is very structurally sound, and I honestly expected the chassis to flex a bit as it was disassembled but it just wasn't the case in the RV02.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_22.jpg

 

The front I/O wiring is short and tough to display for images. There is no need for added length of the included USB 2.0, HD/AC97 Audio connections and the typical power, reset HDD activity and system power LED motherboard connections. When the motherboard is installed all of the headers are at the front end of the chassis, so the shorter the wires here, the less to have to deal with and hide later.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases