TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,002 Reviews & Articles | 38,746 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Intel's Core i7-5960X CPU has already been overclocked to 6.2GHz

Scythe FenrisWolf Mid-Tower Chassis - The Build and Finished Product

Whilst reknowned for their prowess in the PC cooling world, Scythe now takes a shot at cases with its first model, the FenrisWolf.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 29, 2009 1:42 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%      Manufacturer: Scythe

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3080_24.jpg

 

I have the board, CPU, memory and GPU installed, and I had to open up the front to continue the build. Here you can see the fan housed inside of the cover for the bottom 3 bays. Since I have my optical drive at the top, I figured I'd put the HDD at the bottom and see if the fan cover will still fit. Speaking of which, here is the fully assembled adapter mounted to my hard drive. Three thumb screws on either side secure it into the bays, and yes the fan and cover do fit installed in front of the drive adapter.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3080_25.jpg

 

The PSU I chose is not modular, in fact it has quite a bit of wiring. I was able to hide a lot of the extras, and was still able to come up with some pretty unimpeded management of the wires. Everything seemed smooth and lined up as I assembled the build. If you look at the bottom left, the drive adapter does protrude into the chassis a bit with the fan in front, but makes no difference, as there is plenty of room for it to do so.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3080_26.jpg

 

The rear view of the chassis fills out nicely once parts are installed, leaving a clean place to start the rats nest of wires usually hidden behind a PC.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3080_27.jpg

 

One last look inside before I close up shop and add some power to the Scythe. Next to the drives is plenty of room to hide and tie back any wiring. I was able to hide most of mine above the optical drive, so I didn't need much of this space.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3080_28.jpg

 

Once power was added I had to open the door to push the power button. With fans speeding up as the PC boots, there is the blue glow of the power LED to let you know it's on. As if my 9800GTX's fan spooling up 'till the drivers kicked in wasn't sign enough. Although, now that I think about it, I never did hear the case fans, so it is a good thing for those with silent cooling.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3080_29.jpg

 

I had to open her up to drop in my CD for testing to see how things go inside the Scythe once the images are done, so I snapped another image.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3080_30.jpg

 

Once the door is closed back up, there is no visible lighting to be seen, and once my video card drivers kicked in, it left the chassis very quiet indeed. This case would be perfect for the living room or bedroom as there is little noise and no annoying flashy LED's drowning the room in light.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases