TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,250 Reviews & Articles | 40,779 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

Arctic Cooling Accelero Twin Turbo Pro GPU Cooler - Installation and Finished Product

A new revision of the Accelero from Arctic Cooling is about to hit the shelves. Come and take a look at what they are offering this time.

| Video Card Colers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 22, 2009 3:32 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Arctic Cooling

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3075_19.jpg

 

Same torture victim as my last run.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3075_20.jpg

 

Once the stock cooler is removed and the IC's and chips all cleaned, the rubbed with an eraser, I think I am ready to assemble the TTP. I have started by laying the template in place that will guide installation of the long RAM sink.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3075_21.jpg

 

The tab at the top of the template is made to represent where the heat pipes will pass through this heat sink. So installing it with the location of those in mind now should help save some anguish down the line.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3075_22.jpg

 

Here she is all done up and ready to install the cooling half, I really don't need to apply heat sinks to the right end of the card, as temperatures of my power management are very acceptable even passive. Hey, if they supply them, why not use them!

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3075_23.jpg

 

I will tell you this, getting the cooler in place turned out to be more of a chore than I expected. The 3M tape held the spacers in place nicely, and getting the holes to line up wasn't tough either. The issue I had was with the long RAM sink. Even after using the template, I found the heat pipes would still knock the sink off every time I tried to install the cooler. I tried five separate times before I finally gave up. I think one less fin on either side of the middle section would allow me to have fit the cooler much easier.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3075_24.jpg

 

From the side you can tell there is plenty of room to clear the top of the RAM sinks and the cooler clears all the capacitors and other vital components of the card.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3075_25.jpg

 

Looking at it from the end you will see through your case window, you can see I went ahead and did the testing without the long RAM sink in place. Once again, as with the power management, my memory chips don't get hot under testing, so the RAM sink won't make any difference on my card of choice. I would have liked it to stay in place, but let's continue on and see what she can do without it.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3075_26.jpg

 

Like I said, the 4-pin connection on the wiring will allow you to plug the TTP right into a fully controllable 4-pin header on your card. For the sake of testing I will run the card this way and with both ends of the adapter supplied with this cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3075_27.jpg

 

One thing Arctic Cooling overlooked in the design was allowing room for the optical cabling on the 9800GTX+. This little cable takes the green LED light from the PCB and allows users to see it in the back. A little bit of work with a small set of needle nosed pliers took care of this issue in about two minutes time.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3075_28.jpg

 

Orienting the card and cooler so it will show as you will see it during use, I wanted to cover two points. The first point is the limited flex of the PCB. I have had some coolers lately that flexed my PCB into a taco-like shape, and that scares me a bit. Not with the Twin Turbo Pro. This PCB is flat and true. The second thing I wanted to cover is that the cooler once installed will take up three full slots, so be sure ahead of time you have plenty of room to sound cards or the other GPU in your rig.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases