TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,009 Reviews & Articles | 38,768 News Posts

3D Vision with ViewSonic's VX2268wm FuHzion LCD Monitor - The 3D Vision Kit - Continued

3D Vision has been out for a bit and we take the time to see how it looks with a bunch of games on ViewSonic's VX2268wm 120Hz LCD.

| Monitors in Displays & Projectors | Posted: Dec 16, 2009 12:51 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: ViewSonic

The 3D Vision Kit - Continued

 

Continuing to look at the cables, we've got two other ones here. The first is a communications cable that connects between a DLP TV and the IR Receiver; you only use this in the event that you aren't using a monitor.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3067_08.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3067_09.jpg

 

The other cable we have is a DVI to HDMI cable which is used if you want to hook your DLP TV up to your computer. These two cables are mainly for people who will use 3D Vision on something like their home theater PC. We didn't have to use either of these cables, but it's good to see that NVIDIA has included the necessary cables so that people with capable DLP TVs can use the kit out of the box.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3067_10.jpg

 

As far as extras go, we've got a cleaning cloth for the glasses along with a pouch for them as well. We've also got some covers that go over the nose part of the glasses so you can be feel comfortable wearing the glasses if your nose shape is a bit different. It's again nice to see that NVIDIA has put the thought into the product. I've found with some glasses I can get a headache if the nose piece is too tight. I'm glad to report that inside the bundle there was one which was perfect.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3067_11.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3067_12.jpg

 

Outside of all these cables and extras, there's really only two main pieces to the whole kit. The first would be the IR Receiver that sits near your monitor. The front lets us know it's running while the back gives us a connection to hook it up with your computer and DLP TV. We've also got a scroll wheel here that lets you control the 3D depth. Once you're in games you might find that you fiddle a little with this to find a perfect setting. With this device you can turn on and off the 3D effect, so if you find one game doesn't work great with it, you don't have to completely unplug the device or anything like that.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3067_13.jpg

 

The second part to the whole setup is of course the glasses. Now, you're not going to see these down any Milan runway, but the good news is you don't look as stupid as you could and that in itself is a win. The only really stand-out point of the glasses would be the mini-USB port that is on one of the arms; this is used to charge the glasses.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3067_14.jpg

 

NVIDIA say that it takes four hours to fully charge the glasses and out of that you'll get around 40-hours of game play. When there's two hours or less available, the LED light on the other side of the frame will flash red. Really, what we would suggest you do is when you're not gaming, leave them plugged into the USB charger. With 40 hours available you shouldn't have to worry about the glasses going flat at any stage.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Displays & Projectors content at our Displays & Projectors reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases